Please drill a hole in my skull and hook wires into my brain Elon Musk, I'm ready.

Elon Musk recently announced his new project Neuralink. It's a machine brain interface that ultimately aims to create a bridge between the brain and well all of the outside world.

It builds on the technology that's out there right now allowing this sort of interface but apparently boosts it 1000x by some metric that I haven't researched enough to be familiar with.

Whatever, look at a video like the one I posted above to get all the details. I'm here to say, I want it. I want it in my brain. I want it for the world. If I were a scientist, I'd probably be a "mad scientist" because I want to push forward super aggressively and get shit done. Everytime I see someone who is crippled or has some sort of physical deformity, I just think of how awesome it would be if they could just get another physical body. This is the first step. Not to mention the first step to us all becoming more cyborg than we already are. I welcome this.

When Elon Musk was on the Joe Rogan show he said something that stuck with me as he was alluding to this technology. He said we're already cyborgs. We're constantly on our phones and on computers. It's just that our interface with these devices is clunky, we're accessing them with our fingers or controllers, etc. That's pretty inefficient.

What if you could google something by just thinking a question, what if there was no more "learning" to code, only thinking up ideas, and you just download the coding language straight to your brain. What if you could download experiences? A blind person could experience sight, a deaf person could experience sound. The possibilities are pretty insane.

I've always been a fan of anime like Ghost in the Shell and in general cyberpunk sort of stories. I hope people's fear doesn't impede the technology too much.

What do you think? You ready to be a cyborg or are you attached to being a fleshbag? 🤣 Would you ever hook electrodes into your brain for something like this?

Also, this is my first post to StemGeeks.net! Another cool tribe, check it out!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency