*Guadua Angustifolia* - Stronger than steel but chopped with a hatchet!

guadua2.jpg

In Colombia, guadua angustifolia is a protected species, and unless you are using the material for tasks on your own farm, you need a license to chop one down. There is also an ecological guideline that each landowner is responsible for the sustainable management of the plant - because scientific study does show that these plants need to be 'pruned', that by cutting out the oldest stalks, future sprouts have more room to come out thicker.

I have been reviewing our different bamboos in STEM for two weeks now, and this morning I participated in my first harvest: Pre-dawn we went out with a powerful flashlight beam and a small hatchet. I made a nice video, which I will share as soon as I resolve some of my connectivity woes.

guadua.jpg

Because this guadua bamboo was harvested at the right time, there is no water in the pump, so to speak. The lack of this water will serve to protect this wood against boring insects that might seek it out.

We marked 38 guaduas, and this morning we managed to chop and clean 4. I think I will be getting up at pre-dawn for a number of days....While we are past the new moon now, the growing crecent moon sets only shortly after the sun, so these next several days are the very best time in the month to do these tasks.

alexguadua.jpg

I have a number of projects around the farm that will require this guadua, the first of which is a new temporary plastic roof over the eco-dome, so we can continue to work as the rainy season sets in.

Thank you bamboo for your service!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency