Graphics Design: A science or An Art

image.png

Is Graphics Design a Science Or An Art?

Hey, Bee, See, Dee is the way a Yoruba (south-western Nigeria) will pronounce the first four of the English alphabets. But I’m not here to write about how that came to be, I’m Yoruba too by the way.

I write to discuss, based on my own curiosity which led me to ask the question “Is Graphic Design a Science or an Art) on my social media handle. My purpose to determine which of the two it is more of. I read on Quora, got responses from non-designers, designers, and staunch scientists and I’ll be sharing(most likely not verbatim) their views(or single-word) responses.

First, before we jump into a pool with no depth, I’d like to give a definition of what I understand science and art to be.

I’d define science as the knowledge of a natural occurrence(phenomena) derived from experimenting, studying, and observation. Meaning, if you carefully research why the numbers of spoons ‘miraculously’ dwindles in your kitchen or why kids as ‘ridiculously’ fascinating questions and still act the way they do(moronically) while experimenting with different scenarios, and studying the outcomes of these scenarios. Your ability to arrive at a conclusion(not necessarily a solution) after doing all that has been stated is called science.

Fun Fact: Science doesn’t believe in miracle(why? We’d discuss that some other time. I have ‘time’ and I’m here to stay)

And Art? Oh! That portrays itself a little simpler than the complex and uptight Mr. Science. Art is sleek, the talk of the town, Art is the neighbor that gets you coffee in the morning and helps take out your bin when it’s getting full. And in modern times, art is very dynamic! Art is also mainstream(as expected of a loveable individual). In my country(Nigeria), You’d be deemed a failure should you choose to study an ‘art course’ other than LAW, things are getting better, but for the younger folks’ mental health I hope it does get way better. Oh! I was going to define Art! Yes! Art I’d define as the display or application of human’s creativity, this creativity may be inborn, or developed. Art is as present in our daily life as science is, as science is in why our eyes twitch, so is an art in the movement of the painter’s brush. Science is sound, Art is in sound, science is in light, so is art.

Now you ask, will he not get to the point? Does he not cease to bore me with so many details? I tell you, you are here for a reason; to know where graphics design falls? And that curiosity which didn’t deal my cats any heavy blow will be sated.

Graphics Design is science, in its ability to study the need of the human psychology, in understanding what details the human eyes will catch first, and what color will draw his attention the most. Studying the clients reaction to a design through their feedback, or through gauging their reaction is in itself a great science methodology, carefully curating patterns for the wide range of clients' cultural differences is science. Researching the likely reactions of a mind to a design, and then comparing it to the actual reaction is science.

Graphics Design is science in its process of formation, in the series of tasks completed before actually putting into motion what was planned on the drawing board. This may be different from what other individuals believe, it's what I believe. It’s what I understand. It’s how I treat Graphic Design as a profession. It’s why I excel in what I do. Also, it’s a view I share with others.

You must at this point have understood the point at which Graphics Design becomes an Art, yes! You are spots on. Graphics design only becomes art at implementation. It becomes art at the draw of the first line, the first circle, the first 150 by 150 box. When you convert that line to a curve, the circle to an oval, the box to a flyer, then you have created art, art that stemmed from proper research(at least with elite designers like my brother Tunmise), art is in your ability to thrill your audience. Your enthusiasm in ensuring that you grow through referrals that is bore off dedication to your scientific trade.

In all, science and art, Hippos and Cats, all we want is things to soothe our hearts, glues to mend our tears, cash to spend on our likes and likes to grace our writes.

Thank You for taking your time to read, I’d appreciate your inputs through the comment box or any media you can access me on.

https://www.quora.com/Is-design-an-art-or-a-science-and-why
https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&sxsrf=ALeKk01VpAUFX53OwwjO5brr1-hY-CxU3g%3A1614375387317&ei=22k5YJLtEt2Q1fAPhK646AY&q=what+is+art&oq=what+is+&gs_lcp=Cgdnd3Mtd2l6EAMyBAgjECcyBAgjECcyBAgjECcyBQgAEJECMgUIABCRAjIECAAQQzIECAAQQzIKCAAQhwIQsQMQFDIFCAAQsQMyBQgAELEDOgcIABBHELADOgIIADoFCC4QsQNQmtwDWJfpA2DY8wNoAXACeACAAccOiAHDP5IBCzQtMy4xLjIuMi4xmAEAoAEBqgEHZ3dzLXdpesgBCMABAQ&sclient=gws-wiz&ved=0ahUKEwjSxvr7wIjvAhVdSBUIHQQXDm0Q4dUDCA0&uact=5

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency