Steem Monsters Fantasy Story and Music Contest // Week 3 // Entry

t0w5dc3dhi.png

img source

A Steem Monsters Story

Pirate Archer

The sun was high over the ocean before he awoke. He never had to wake early anymore. Not since he had come to his little island. The world had driven him away. He was a citizen of Azmare yet he had not heard from anyone in a long time. The mages had pushed him away. He stared at his bow on the wall. It was a gift to him from his former master and some said it was magic. He always hated that. It was his skill that made it seem like it was magic. Most saw only one arrow fly from it yet he could always hit two targets. In a world with magic so many just doubt what we can do if you work hard enough at a skill. His stomach reminded him it was time to go hunting and he grabbed his bow and quiver and headed for the door.

He was not in the mood for fish again today so he headed inland. Wild boars still ran around his home and he was careful to not over hunt them. He was aware of one of the elders being near his end and he would be sure to lets the others grow before he hunted them again. So many had forgotten how to live in this world. How to respect it and not take more than they needed. He had spent his time on the seas trying to fix it. But they had labeled him a pirate and sent the mages guild after him. Trying to stop the fishing boats from using nets and the rich folks from dumping all their trash on their party cruise and they labeled him the criminal. He had left them to ruin the waters if they wanted. He wouldn’t kill other Azmareans and they had left him no other choice. So the had left.

He found the tracks in the normal spot. When you don’t over hunt them they never will try to hide. He was happy to see the drift had a few new members in it. Today he would only need one arrow. He saw the eldest boar and it looked back at him. Yet it did not flee as his arrow flew it hit right as aimed and the beast fell feeling no pain. There was honor in animals that men had forgotten. He could have run but he knew that might change my target. He has seen me before and knew I always take the eldest.

It was time to head home and as he carried his meal for the next month he felt something uneasy in the air. It wasn’t until he got out of the forest and near the coast that he saw why. A ship was in the bay. It carried the symbols of the magic guild. They can’t be looking for me, can they? He went to his hut and started to butcher his kill. He would not let this go to waste.

He saw out his window that a small ship was headed to shore. Well looks like I will get some news from the world after all. He could see just one figure on the boat. The yellow robes and blue skill let him know it was merfolk. The cape let him know he was a mage. He set out an extra plate as he started to cook a side of bacon. If he was coming to fight he wouldn’t be alone. So if he wants to talk that is fine with me.

“Hello, In there might you step outside?”

“Sorry friend, I am at the stove but you are welcome in.”
He saw the figure walk in and take a seat at the table. He must be strong. Not a bit of worry is on his face.

“Thank you for inviting me in. I am a member of the Mages Guild of Azmare. I have come here looking for the famous Pirate Archer that is rumored to retire in this area.”

“Rumors huh, I didn’t think I was that famous. What could the Mages Guild want with me? It has been years since I last had a tangle with them.”

He glanced at this bow on the wall. He wasn’t going to hide who he was. This was his home and he was sure if this man wanted to do him harm he wouldn’t have just walked up.

“I am here to ask for your help. There is an evil force building up strength in the Splinterlands. It means to conquer all the realms. We call it the blight”

“Hmm, that sounds like something from the lands of Mortis. Are you sure they are not just up to something?”

“Yes we had that thought as well but the Death clan has reached out. They thought our guild had summoned this evil. It seems to be breaking out in all the realms. It has not driven all to peace just yet but it has given us all a reason to talk.”

He brought a plate of bacon and potatoes to the table and served them both. So a new evil has come to the lands. I am sure they brought this on one way or other. The earth will fight back you know.

“Please eat, I am not sure why you would be looking for me. What can a simple archer so that the magic guild can’t?”

“It is not the guild that came to ask for your help. It is I the Ruler of the Sea’s that asks. Your legend is greater than you know with my people. We know you fought to protect the ocean. That you always missed on purpose. That your speed is so fast that you can fire twice when other only see you move once. I have come to show you how we might work together to stop this.”

He looked at this merfolk and for the first time could see some youth in his eyes. He knew that title meant that this young merfolk was the strongest mage they had. Why would he want me to work with him?

“Let us eat and then we can talk more about this”

He still wondered what the kid wanted with him. So as he cleaned up he headed back over and looked him right in the eyes.

“Why me?”

“If you could grab your bow I will show you. Just follow me.”

With that, the Ruler headed out of his cabin and toward the tree line.

“My magic will work well with your skills and that is why I wanted you to join me.’

With that, the Ruler of the Seas showed him a magic attack that mimicked his own. His eyes caught the motion that others would have missed. Two lighting blots flew from his hands and struck both trees.

“I am also able to do a doubled attack that most can’t see. Together we could defeat two strong enemies with one attack or four weak ones before the battle begins. Also, I want to fight with someone that I know loves the Oceans as much as myself.”

He quicked shot and both arrows hit dead center in the char marks left by the lighting. He was always fast but standing next to this kid he could feel something that made that attack even faster.

“I see your point but I am still not sure I am ready to head off to war with you. Don’t you have enough mages to deal with this?”

“Our forces are strong but the mages don’t always like to be around me. You may be feeling a little better than normal? Yes well, mages feel a little weaker than normal around me. So I tend to fight with some of the other warriors from our lands.”

“Have you faced any of this new evil yet?”

“Yes, and I have seen the land touched by it. It is as if the land is dying. The waters poisoned. We can’t let spread into Azmare.”

He looked around his home and the beauty it had. If this kid was right this new evil could destroy it.

“Well, it time for me to see how much my homeland has changed while I have been out here. I will go with you younger Ruler of the Sea. I will face this new evil with you.”

He headed back to his hut to pack up a few things before he headed out to board the ship. As he stepped into the little boat and headed away he looked back one last time. He would be back he told himself.

“I do have someone on board that says he knows you. Calls himself the Captain.”
“What that seadog is still alive?”

“Yes, he helped me find you.”

As he boarded the ship he saw his old friend along with a few others. It felt good to be on the deck of a ship again. He was ready to go and see just what this new enemy was. He had been alone long enough.


speculative fiction writers of steemit

Image by @EdibleCthulhu

image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency