Her strength inspires me

And just like that 10 days have passed, and silence has fallen on our house like no other.

I know my Dad, Martin would be so proud of all of his girls. Although he has passed, his presence was with us all this entire trip. There were just too many things that could have only been him... because everything is Dad <3 My heart was full when we could celebrate his life together here in Cambodia, as sadly I was unable to attend his memorial service back home in Australia. We prepared a floral arrangement to set off in the river in Siem Reap and I now find peace in knowing I have my own little spot to visit here in Cambodia when I need to.
received_6312430440182401.jpeg
20190601_2129581.jpg

The Kemmerling girls came and hit Cambodia with a boom like no other. They survived the bugs, dusty roads, bustling traffic, the heat and the unfamiliar. I still am pinching myself that they even came in the first place.

Before I go any further let me give you a little background information about my mother and fathers history. Two soulmates. The young kids that fell in love and had me at the tender age of 15 and 17. The two that proved the disbelievers wrong.

When I was a little girl and would ask my father who he loved the most, he would always reply “your mother, you know she will always be my favorite!” It would be impossible to speak of my father without also speaking of my mother because they were one. He said from the moment he saw her it was love at first sight. But she was with another boy. He fought for her and asked her to be his girl and from that very moment he knew she would be his girl forever,

Together, they showed me and my sisters what true love was like, and taught me what a marriage should be. He showed us that a marriage is never perfect...but your love for your spouse is, and if you stick together and work as a team absolutely nothing can break you and you can get through anything. His love and commitment to my mum was like none other.

He wasn't afraid to proclaim his devotion to our Mum, grabbing a sneaky bum grab, plucking her eyebrows, or giving her a big smooch in front of anyone. If he left for anywhere it would be hand in hand with his love, his Bubbles. He would brag about her...and write her poems and cards signing off with Love always Martin xxxoooFFF. He was always a romantic and a gentleman to my mother.

They were together for over 36 beautiful years, and during his last days, his only concern when speaking with me was for mum’s well being, and not his own imminent mortality.

They have had more battles to face together than most, and even in the darkest days even from the very start when they were just kids with a little and few believed in them and they could ever work, they stayed with each other. Nobody will ever love in this world the way those two people do. It’s a love admired by many today and a love that will be spoken about and compared to forever.

For those who follow my postings, you would be aware that my father passed away just 83 days from diagnosis of cancer to death. his passing shocked our family to the core. I couldn't imagine how my mother would ever be able to cope. Yet she amazes me with each passing day.

My mother had never flown interstate in Australia, let alone fly internationally. But I guess she felt as strongly as I did that we all needed to be together and she packed up her belongings and my two sisters and headed for Cambodia.

No doubt a trip to our hometown Siem Reap, Cambodia, opened the girls' eyes to a whole new world and whole different way of living, but their trip also has also opened my eyes to so many things... My mum Joanne, leaving me with a few lasting life lessons.

She taught me that life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, its about learning to dance in the rain....
and dance she did, until the wee hours of the morning like nobody was watching.

I observed her moments of solitude and silence just taking things all in and moments of independence stepping into the unknown, living not just existing. Her courage and bravery inspire me.
20190604_2152271.jpg

She taught me peoples opinions are irreverent, you will never please everyone, so stop wasting your time worrying about everyone.

Enjoy life and do the things you like to do and not what you think people expect of you. It's OK to be the loud table at the restaurant laughing, its OK to be the loudest one cheering for your footy team in the crowd... Dance when you wanna dance, sing when the song hits you, bang the bongo drums! Just be you, quirks and all. Chill out, Lucy! Have fun!!

She taught me its ok when plans go askew and everything isn't perfect. Do what you gotta do get it out then get your shizz back together and move on… because when the moment passes the memories later will bring laughter. Don't sweat the small stuff….just ride it out!

She showed me to be fearless and courageous even when your scared shitless and having to face your fears. Just like she did by getting on that "little bloody tin thing in the sky" aka a plane, even if needing to be medicated, jumping off that giant diving platform into the water, climbing on that old wooden boat, riding on that motorcycle, ripping off that mask smelling, touching, tasting and absorbing everything around her.

She taught me not to wish you did it, but just bloody do it! Be present at the moment, and have no regrets.

Want to check out some of my usual posts and adventures?

https://steemit.com/@mumma-monza

20180516_002249_0001.png




Mannabase is a crypto approach to Universal Basic Income.
Sign up now for your FREE weekly distributions of Manna
https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=a23dc231d8

It works! Earn bitcoin with Cryptotab.
https://getcryptotab.com/74053
I would also love to hear about other passive income streams. So drop your tips and hints and ideas below.

Vote @adsactly for witness - open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign
Or give us a direct vote here
Thank you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now