STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE - Winners of #42 "Beautiful Bread"

Many thanks to guest judge @jaymorebeet for last week's "Beautiful Bread" theme and for her time in carefully selecting the winners.  She had a difficult task there, and if you've seen all the entries you'll know that because they were all bloomin' fantastic!   @jaymorebeet decided four prizes weren't enough so very generously she's sponsored a 5th prize too.  Thank you for that!!!  The hours and the love put into making those breads... well, all I can say is the real victories in this round were the amazing breads created, regardless of which got prizes.  I feel a wonderful vibe of accomplishment and pride from all those who participated, and sense this round will not be forgotten quickly!  Many had never attempted to make bread before, and so this theme provided the motivation needed to give it a try.  Now I hope there will be much more homemade bread in all our participants futures, and the futures of all the other Steemians who viewed (and bookmarked of course) the recipes!  Thank you to everyone for another delicious week!

To enter the Steemit Culinary Challenge...


...it's very easy! We have a different theme each week, and all you have to do is prepare a dish appropriate for the theme, and also ensure you follow the general rules of the challenge (which are in every 'new theme' post).  You don't have to be a master chef - just try to be creative with your recipes and take beautiful photos, since unfortunately we can't taste the entries so you must help us do this with our imaginations!  Original recipes are encouraged, but you may use someone else's recipe as long as you credit the original source. 


The NEW THEME is posted each Thursday/Friday, so please stand by!



5th Prize "Walnut Rosemary Honey Wholemeal Bread" by @alinalisa 5 SBD sponsored by @jaymorebeet

@jaymorebeet comments: "Her humble-looking loaf has some serious attention to detail, coating the walnuts in honey before incorporating them into the dough, and the use of rosemary with the wholemeal flour sounds like it combines to make a fragrant, nutty loaf that I'd like to make a go-to recipe for myself and my family.  Very well done, and I can't wait to try it!"


4th Prize "Hokkaido Milk Bread" by @steemit-foodie 5 SBD sponsored by @sirwinchester

@jaymorebeet comments:  "I've never seen anything so fluffy and overflowing! I will definitely be making this bread - I love the approach of setting four distinct  portions of dough next to each other and the effect that it takes as each rises during the proofing and baking steps.  The crumb looks heavenly - light as air.  I can't wait to make this loaf!"


3rd Prize "Cornucopia Bread Basket" by @thekitchenfairy 10 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@jaymorebeet comments: "Some serious thought and effort went into this grand assortment of  breads and rolls.  From the variety of shapes, sizes, colors, flavors, and textures, @thekitchenfairy has shown the diversity that is possible in bread baking, and how to turn simple ingredients into a bountiful work of art for any celebration.  My only question is ....I hope she has a lot of friends, or a great treadmill 😉"


2nd Prize "Bagels/Bajgle" by @breadcentric 15 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@jaymorebeet comments: "I've tried making bagels before and I know it's NOT EASY!  The malt syrup in the water, and the boiling before baking are critical, and @breadcentric nailed it.  I know good bagels when I see them, as I grew up not far from New York City, and these bagels look superb, especially with those too-small holes!  Great choices in toppings and a bubbly  interior that looks like it has the perfect chew! I'll take a baker's dozen!"


1st Prize "The Perfect Sweet Challah" by @cooknbake 20 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@jaymorebeet comments: "Not only is her challah huge and fluffy and impressive, but she went into painstaking detail to explain to everyone how to create beautiful braids and shapes that I could only conjure in my imagination.  I need a seat at her table.  I promise it's just a coincidence that I also made Challah for the judge's entry!"



I'd like to share my sincere THANKS to @gringalicious and @sirwinchester for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 


PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#42 - Beautiful Bread

#41 - Monochrome

#40 - Mexican Food Showdown

#39 - Baby Food

#38 - Vegan Dishes From Around The World

#37 - Healthy Yet Tempting Food for Children

#36 - Food Fit For A German

#35 - Ice-Cream

#34 - A Smoothie for @smooth

#33 - Brilliant Berries

#32 - Picnic Alfresco

#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 



Image kindly created for me by @sashagenji

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency