My take on BOLOGNAISE - LOW CARB COMFORT FOOD - Yeah baby yeah!!!

HEADER FOR FOOD.png

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

When I woke up this morning and peered out the window, it looked like it was going to be one of those relatively "non-descript" days weather wise... it was somewhat gloomy, raining on and off with a little bit of sunshine and essentially not a whole lot of dramatics haha! and as I lay in bed checking my notifications and contemplating what I would make for dinner I suddenly had a comfort food epiphany... hahaha! Bolognaise it would be! Now, I do realise that bolognaise is probably one of the most commonly served dishes worldwide, but I have also come to know that the way I prepare it is a little less ordinary... and so I figured that was adequate reason enough to share it with all of you ;) I have always preferred a slightly sweeter style bolognaise as apposed to the somewhat slightly bitter traditional approach... And another slightly off the regular, is that I will be making it with egg linguini and not traditional spaghetti... because, well... carbs and love handles!!! hahaha!!!

20180915_162350.jpg

Ok so, that was the EXCITING ingredient lol - because bolognaise would be useless without the pasta! But here are the rest of the ingredients... except for the onion which I forgot to add into the photo and it was sulking but I chopped him up and put him in the pot first along with the chopped garlic and chilli so he felt a little less left out haha!

Ok, so this is what you will need:

A pack of beef mince
Two cans of tomato, basil, origanum and garlic
A sachet of tomato paste
Two teaspoons of chopped garlic
Three teaspoons of sugar
A nice dollop of Mrs Balls Chutney (yes @rwedegis... there it is again haha)
Two handfuls of fresh basil
A small handful of fresh origanum
A handful of Italian parsley
A pack of baby marrows
One yellow and one red sweet bell pepper
A glug glug of red wine
Salt and pepper to taste
One chicken stock cube
oh, and an onion... haha!


20180915_144604.jpg



Ok, so like I said... I sauteed the onion, garlic & chilli
(and I must just add that this garlic and chilli mix is SO mild,
that even Jude will eat it... just in case anyone thought I was busy making
a KILLER bolognaise haha... although, that's not a bad idea ;)

20180915_145506.jpg

20180915_145750.jpg

While that was busy frying, I roughly chopped up the peppers.
The reason I choose to use the red and yellow peppers,
is for colour balance... hahaha see, I was NOT joking @rwedegis ;)

20180915_150235.jpg

and then added them to the onion mix in the pot and sauteed for a while longer...

20180915_150353.jpg

While that is busy, I chop up the fresh herbs.
I am one of those people that would literally throw the herbs in without chopping,
but the men in the house moan about the "plants in their food" haha...
so chop chop we do!
And I leave them nice and CHUNKY... hehe...
which is not at ALL passive aggressive!
MWAHAHAHAHA!!!

One of the most IMPORTANT aspects of this for me,
is the ridiculous amounts of fresh basil!
It simply MAKES the dish!

20180915_150604.jpg

20180915_150731.jpg

Then comes the part where everyone generally gasps in horror...
I throw it ALL in!
Yip, that's right, I don't brown the meat,
I don't crush the stock cube... nothing!
IT ALLLLLLL GOES INNNNN!!!!!
Anything that is on the above list and has not been included yet...
goes INNNNNN!!!!
hahahaha
It must be a "midweek mother tactic" lol

20180915_151214.jpg

and then..... STIRRRRRRR!!!

20180915_151324_1.gif

Let that cook on medium to high heat for about 10 min.
Just enough for the mince to cook through...
and while that is busy chop up the baby marrows!

I used to add mushrooms to my bolognaise,
but my son cannot stand mushrooms, so I looked for a substitute
many years back and to be honest, I actually prefer the marrows...
oh, yes... I omitted to mention haha...
they are my mushroom sub.

The sweet peppers are there, because, well -
sweet peppers are pretty much awesome with anything
and also I try and pack as MUCH nutrition into EVERY dish
I make for my family... because I am old school that way ;)

20180915_151920.jpg

When the pot is bubbling nicely,
I throw the marrows in, pop the lid on and reduce the heat to medium to low.

You can pretty much leave it on a very low heat
after about another 15 minutes and serve it whenever ready.

Oh, and don't forget to cook the pasta ;) haha!

I would normally serve this with some sliced avocado and parmesan,
but sadly there were no ripe avos in the shop today...
so it was just a sprinkling of parmesan.

And I will have you all know,
that this plate was prepped for my 8 yr old...
and it is ALL gone now!

He always gets the "fancy" looking plates lol -
because the portion size is great for photography,
the rest of our portions would just look obtuse
in a photo hahahaha - true story ;)

20180915_185909.jpg

20180915_185937.jpg

20180915_185814.jpg

Well, fabulous peeps... that's a wrap!
and... in my house, cooking comes with music,
and music and food ALWAYS come with wine!
CHEERS!!!!
Hope you all have an AWESOME Sat!

cropped.png

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

SB_new.png

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individul growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

line1.png

Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

line1.png

Looking for some AWESOME Steemit Blogs to follow?

Check these peeps out...

@rwedegis@hezziebees@kaerpediem@janton@braaiboy@bafi@cookntell@heartscally

There are way too many awesome bloggers to mention all at once,
so I will share different people at the foot of different posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency