SteemitArtChallenge Entry - Aurora - Oil on wood panel - By @AndresSilvera - with process video

 


This is my entry for @anca3drandom art challenge, this piece is titled "Aurora" oil on wood panel - 18x24


The initial quick sketch

which is how I always start out, in my good ole sketch book. ( I love that guy!!)


Blue is beautiful

I always start my oil paintings with an ultramarine underpainting to establish the values

Starting on the initial skin tones

I used a mix of Yellow ochre, burnt sienna, ultramarine blue and a little bit of permanent rose for the initial layers.

The sky is the limit

I add more layers of skin tone and fill in the background with an initial layer of blues, violets and purples.

And here she is all finished! 

"Aurora"

Oil on wood panel

18x24

I had a blast painting this piece and incorporated some personal touches, because I like each piece to have a special meaning to me. 

The constellations on her back represent the zodiac signs of my brother and sisters, and the ones in the sky represent everyone who is close to me, like nieces, bestfriends, mom etc. and is a reminder to myself that they are always with me, no matter where I may be.


And here is a little process video to watch her come to life :)


Special thanks to @anca3drandom for hosting this contest 

If you enjoy my work, please click this button to  go on, you know you want to!


Also check out my work on the below sites, just click and away you go :)



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center