IMAGE ISSUE: There is currently an issue with Images NOT being displayed on Steemit (all image hosts I think) - PLEASE READ



(In case someone comes across this later the date is Monday the 10th of October at 3am UK time. Also in case the image above works it is from my Istockphoto.com account)


Sorry I will make this brief as I am about to go to bed.  I realised a couple of hours ago that there was an issue with my post below:

https://steemit.com/photography/@thecryptofiend/beautiful-abstract-water-textures-for-you-to-use-in-your-own-posts

Some images were showing and not others - previously they were all showing.  

Later around 2am I found out that for some people none of the images were showing - thanks to @justtryme90 for notifying me about it.

This seems to be happening with multiple posts and using different image hosts too. 

It does not appear to be a hosting issue.  I have checked multiple posts which all seem to be having the issue and not all of them are using the same host plus the hosting sites are up without errors.

I have tested this with my own image host SteemImg, and also - Imgsafe, Imgur and Photobucket as below.

The fact that all those image hosting sites are up and functional, combined with this suggests to me that it is a Steemit issue.

Further the actual direct links when removed from Steemit do actually work.  See the example below:

Example

Have a look at this post by @halo which has the same issue:

https://steemit.com/halo/@halo/steemit-girl-halo-watch-with-techno-background

If you take the link from this Steemit post (which would normally work on its own): 

and strip the first bit "https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/" out leaving just the following bare link it works fine:

Anyway.  For the time being rather than trying in vain to keep switching hosts around I have edited my post to add direct working links to the images.  They still don't show in the posts but people can look at them after clicking.

The TLDR - wait until the problem is resolved before changing your image host/links because it won't make any difference and you will just waste your time.

Apologies if this is less than coherent but it is 3 am here and I am exhausted.  I just didn't want people getting frustrated or wasting their time so thought I should post.

All the best and goodnight,

@thecryptofiend:)


EDIT: The issue seems to be resolved for me now (1pm Monday 10th September UK time) - Looks like the Steemit team have fixed whatever the issue was or it has resolved itself.  I would appreciate if others could confirm it is working for them?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center