Overworked & Underpaid - Steemit Reflection - Top post gets 5 STEEM

STEEMITDEDD.jpg

Man, I wonder... do people even read Steemit posts these days?

Maybe it's just me, I haven't been as active on the platform lately... But it seems like video content has almost completely cannibalized written blog content.

And I enjoy writing, but it's a little discouraging when I have 1700 followers, and 10 of the 15 replies on a post are from automated bot accounts.

I was feeling good about Steemit when I signed up, but I think the monetization of the platform is the main driver of its user's engagement, and not quality content.

tumblr_mtqtoePqUK1sig0xgo1_500.gif

I also have an issue with whale monopolization.

Big accounts naturally earn more, but rarely give it back.

I know @trevonjb is powering down and selling off his STEEM. Makes me wonder if I should do the same?

@trevonjb is an interesting case study, as I think his success is based off his willingness to give away information, and crypto earned, for free.

Well, I'll start with this post. I'll send the best comment 5 STEEM.

"Best" could mean, most thought out, or driver of additional conversation. I guess it's about quality versus quantity, and not whether you agree with me or not.

And then I wonder, if I should double down on producing quality content, and triple down on engaging with the community, and that my cynicism may change?

Let me know what you think.

Cheers,

@mikev

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now