How To Draw A Whale! (Proven Tips!)

Everyone is obsessed with Whales these days. So I'm going to teach you how to make your own whale!

Whale Shark!!!

So here he is! I looked up a photo for reference... You may need to do the same unless you're obsessed with whales and you know exactly what they look like from head to toe.
I'm using my Ipad mini as a photo reference.

Draw the basic outline

Draw Guidelines if necessary.

Begin your shading

Start with the darkest areas first, And lighten up, Leave the light areas alone. I'm using a paper stump to create soft shades

Deepen the shading

Get darker shades, Start using your B pencils to really darken those areas and give them a rich, smooth shade.


This guy has spots!

So instead of trying to outline each spot, I'm going to go ahead and darken his whole body. I have an Electric Eraser That will give me those nice little white spots that I need.

When you are finishing darkening his body...#

Use your electric eraser and hit the paper leaving a round dot, They probably won't be perfectly round, And thats the point, Keep your eraser at an angle to ensure a nice natural look, Don't over erase.

You've got a pretty whale all to yourself!

He's pretty much done now, I just need to spray him to ensure the pencil doesn't smear. (I use aerosol hairspray)

What does yours look like? Post it!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now