IS FAILURE A HELPFUL LEARNING TOOL?

Failing in life can be very helpful to individuals. It takes a real person to figure out what mistakes he or she has made and to correct them. I have observed so many celebrities in the entertainment industry make many mistakes and they try to make amends in the business they are in. For example, Justin Bieber made many mistakes when he was a young celebrity and soon after was arrested by the police for his actions. Within a couple years after being arrested, he turned himself around displaying good behavior and now he is right back on track making good music that is topping the charts. When being a celebrity and being around the media attention, it can really put you down and it can play with your head.   As I observe celebrities like Justin Bieber make mistakes, I realize that I have made my own share of mistakes and have failed in my performance of certain tasks as well. One of the places I have experienced failure is on the baseball field. Being on the pitcher's mound or in the batter’s box can cause a great deal of stress when your team is up a couple of runs, and especially when your team is down a couple. Everyday a hitter thinks of hitting a 90 MPH pitch and hopefully you can make good contact with the ball. The stress of a close game would make me so nervous that I would no longer throw strikes at the batter. When it came time for me to hit, I would strikeout. I was failing to do well at my job and letting my team down. I had to learn to relax and in spite of the pressure that lead to my failing on the mound and letting my team down. I did everything I could to relax. I would step away from the mound and try to regroup myself. My relaxation strategies would work sometimes, but not always. I tried to learn from the times that I was unable to be successful.
I believe that failure is an extremely useful learning tool. I feel that it is very important for people to learn from their mistakes and correct their behavior for future endeavours. After failing, you need to make certain adjustments to your actions. For example, if I were to keep throwing a batter fastballs and he was to keep hitting home runs, I would need to learn to mix up my pitches. Another option to help you learn from failure is to get help from a professional in the area you are not succeeding or even to seek advice from your peers.  The lessons we learn from failing experiences can build the perseverance and character to become a successful productive individual in life. 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now