Curation, plagiarism and the Cheetahbot...

Well well, I've just had my first run-in with the cheetahbot at the folowing post: https://steemit.com/southafrica/@grahnite/my-home-country-jumping-on-the-bkockchain

First of all, you will see that the image I use above is MY OWN WORK, from my original post here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@grahnite/steemit-stuck-in-my-brain-this-is-what-i-see

So, back to the topic at hand. As I indicate in my comment on the offending post, a few days ago, a re-post of a news article, was the top post in the "Trending" category.

So, now a few questions:

  1. Are ALL re-posts of news from news sites from now on to be flagged as "plagiarism"? I would say if the Steemit author claims the work as his own, while it is copied from someone else, then it most definitely is. But if there is a link to the source and no claims of ownership are made, then surely this should be fine? The source site would be just too grateful to have a link to their content anywhere else on the internet, including on Steemit.
  2. If ONLY 100% ORIGINAL work is to be used, then all the Youtube videos and meme's need to be flagged as plagiarized. Not so?

BUT, now - do we really want NO content from anywhere else on the 'net to be posted on Steemit? Will it make the site a bit more boring?

These are interesting discussions to be had. Original creators of content need to have their work protected/respected and not plagiarized, but with the proper references, they might be glad for the exposure? But we also want stimulating content on Steemit.

I think the cheetahbot is a good start, but the Steemit community need to think of what we will and will not allow as Steemit matures. Could make for some interesting discussions going forward.

Please post below to raise your point of view.

And hopefully this time the cheetahbot will take it easy on me :D

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now