So, why is there a group on Steemit flagging down anti-vaccine content?

censor

Hello Steemit, I've been getting active on the platform over the last week and a half, and I've really been enjoying the interaction I've gotten on most of my posts! I've been covering a variety of topics, from geoengineering to Trump, from 9/11 to Facebook arguments, and people seem to be interested, and willing to really talk about, most everything I've shared.

This morning when I hopped on, I scrolled through my recent posts, to see if any of them had had any major changes, and I found this:

flagged

Now, this post had been one of my highest earning so far, and had brought in a lot of great conversation from folks about vaccines, VAXXED, and Dr. Wakefield himself... and for some reason a group of accounts (I almost said people, but in situations like this I've found it's usually just 1 person with multiple accounts) decided to flag away all my earnings.

theflags

As you can see @engagement, @thecyclist, @nextgencrypto, @iflagtrash, @randomthoughts, @yougotflagged, @danknugs, and @steemservices have all flagged my post, to the point that they eliminated all potential rewards (previously over $50)... As I scrolled down into the comments, I found this:

bs

I went to this account's profile, and clicked on their "flagging report" for today, only to find this at the very top of it (followed by a post exposing pedophile rings):

stolen

This flagging guild seems to be going after some autoposted/spammy content, but many times their reasons are things like: "____ is a douche", "disagree on rewards", "personal"... all the while spamming the platform with their daily post which is mostly copy & pasted with the only written part being links to the posts they downvoted, and how much $ they removed. That seems worth $100+ per post right?

Imgur

I was under the impression that Steemit was a platform dedicated in large part to being a censorship-free environment, but this is leading me to question that understanding. If someone(s) can simply remove all the rewards from, and effectively hide content they disagree with. I'm not here to collect a bunch of money, but it is certainly nice to be rewarded for your work, to have people see the value of your content. The idea that one person can "disagree with rewards" and eliminate all the value that others see in my work is strange, when there is nothing offensive, no plagiaristm, etc.

Image Source



db

I am an investigative journalist and liberty activist; a Lead Investigative Reporter for ActivistPost.com and the founder of the TheConsciousResistance.com & The Houston Free Thinkers. I have also co-authored three books: The Conscious Resistance: Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 1 and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 2

Donate via Bitcoin: 1DTwgsipbjNVaW3vJtTTaQYrV75gRsmA12

I am always available for interviews, Please contact Derrick@theconsciousresistance.com

I greatly appreciate any support here or on my other social media:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now