Why do some authors think that cussing adds value. Or why don't we have a real down vote?

I seem to be finding more and more posts and comments that contain f-bombs and other expletives that really seem to add nothing to the discussion. It makes me wish that there was a real downvote, not just a flag. I'd be willing to spend some of my voting power to show my displeasure (I don't want to comment because that just makes the post seem more popular.)

Many seem to be constantly saying they want "Quality Content" but they seem to continue to upvote adolescent mush.

I don't want any kind of censorship, but I would like to be able to downvote.

Other than that, I would like for quality content to be determined by the entire population, not just the rich and influential.

Several days ago I wrote a post that evidently no one saw because there were no comments about what I thought was a post that might start a conversation. Of course, I could have an inflated opinion of my post, but I wish somebody had commented on it.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@charleys/is-steemit-still-the-wonderful-place-we-were-told-it-was-before-we-came-here

My guess is that most of the people who come to steemit do so for the potential to gain rewards, not for the potential to submit "quality" content to a "quality" archive.

My other guess is that most who come here come for conversation, not to get or give curated content.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center