This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Austin Steemit Meetup a Success!

I went to the first steemit meetup in Austin, TX tonight and it was a great success! Fourteen people showed up and it was awesome to meet all of them and talk about our steemit experiences.

Of course I need to give a big thanks to @richardcrill and @lindseylambz for putting it together. They even made some rad tee-shirts to give out.

We're going to keep meeting and I'm sure it will keep growing. A few of the people there had just started their accounts within the last day or two, and this was a great way to introduce them to all steemit has to offer.

My wife is off in Iceland with my new camera, so I didn't get any pictures, but I think with time we can get as many people as there were on the South Congress bride waiting for the bats.

Now that I think about it, a steemit meetup to watch the world's largest urban bat colony would be a nice event that is uniquely Austin. Especially if we could somehow acquire a steam powered party boat.

It was great hanging out with @richardcrill, @lindseylambz, @ruwan, @nathanedge, @xtrordinarypilot, @sagewords, @lenadr, @post.apocalyptic, @kittenlaw, @cabelindsay, and the others whose steemit handles are still waiting for confirmation or I forgot to write down.

Talking to actual people who are also interested in steemit, instead of just small pictures and names online, made it feel more real in a way. Most people I talk to about steemit in real life tend to brush it off as some weird internet thing, but at that table we were all in.

It's also encouraging to hear about everyone else's successes and struggles. Knowing others are going through the same ups and downs as I am makes me more motivated to keep posting and keep improving. I'm excited to keep this community going and be inspired by all of y'all.


Since the clock just ticked past midnight and it's now officially wednesday, and since keeping Austin weird was one of my big inspirations for it, I have to plug #weirdwednesday.

#weirdwednesday like the strangeness it inspires, isn't easily defined or contained. But we've all got a bit of weirdness in us, so why not let it out in whatever medium you choose, whether it be a short story or a collage made of 1980's magazine ads.

Read a bit more and see some previous posts over here