steemit requires too much information

steemer.png
SteemIt screenshot from SteemIt (I don't know if I still have to put this)

Has the SteemIt registration been this way before Hive was formed - requiring to provide e-mail address AND a phone number to join? I would rather pay STEEM anonymously than provide even an e-mail address!

I know I could use a burner number and an anonymous e-mail address, but they would either require payment (or identity verification, which instantly defeats the purpose), or be provided for free but not guaranteed to work.

Now, where is that option where I can pay to register instead of providing too much personal information?

Nevermind that, I still won't join Steem (just to prevent anybody from impersonating me there).

Remember, if you are using a "free" service, your personal information is most likely the payment.

Even if I am given the option to join there without providing an e-mail address or phone number and somebody convinced me to register there (just to prevent impersonation), I still would use the Tor browser, because my IP address is enough personal information for the owner of the now-centralized Steemit to provide a "free" account to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency