I Am Becoming Disillusioned With Steemit - There's Clickbait Already?!

It seems to me that the name of an individual carries more weight than the content of their articles.

One can see from a recent post by @rogerkver.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@rogerkver/bitcoin-unlimited-reveals-usd500k-donation-formal-us-registration

This post is quite literally click-through advertising for his website. There is next to no content within this post itself. It pushes traffic to his site. Is this not in essence double dipping? He gets Steemit revenue and advertisement revenue on his site.

In fact, it is a post, about a post, linking to another post...

I have no personal qualms with Mr. Ver - I think he's a great figure in the Bitcoin space, but I do have qualms with the way in which "content" is rewarded on this site.

Does this make sense to anyone else?

I think we need to rethink what is rewarded on the site - we can't all go whale and VIP chasing/ ego stroking. Where is the room for growth for individual writers who are not "in" or already established within the space?

Maybe this is just how Steemit is destined to always remain - a platform where few hit it really big while the others spin their wheels. Doesn't seem like much of a meritocracy to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now