Full node update - appbasetest.timcliff.com changing to api.timcliff.com

Hi All. I hope everybody is doing well :)

I have a brief update about my full node.

TLDR

  • The URL for my full node appbasetest.timcliff.com will be changing to api.timcliff.com.
  • Both URLs are currently being supported in parallel.
  • The old appbasetest.timcliff.com URL will be turned off after 12/31/2019.

Explanation

Back in March 2018, I started supporting a full node: appbasetest.timcliff.com. At the time, the node was intended to support the testing of the new AppBase release.

At the time I setup the node, I said: I have not decided if I plan to support this indefinitely. I plan to keep it up for at least the next 2-3 months as everyone is testing AppBase - since there is obviously a clear need for it right now. We'll see in a few months where to go from here.

Well, quite a bit of time has gone by, and there has continued be a need for public "full" API nodes. I plan to continue supporting the node, although the original name that I chose for testing AppBase no longer makes sense.

For this reason, I will start supporting the node under a new name: api.timcliff.com.

Technical Notes

  • The sever does do moderate rate-limiting to prevent excessive use from taking the node down.
  • This is not a "high availability" node. If it goes down, I will do my best to get it up as quickly as possible - but it may take time depending on what needs to be done to revive it.

Example use

I assume that most people who care about this already know how to connect to and use an RPC node, but here are a few examples to get you started in case you don't:

cli_wallet

cli_wallet -s wss://api.timcliff.com

CURL

curl https://api.timcliff.com --data '{"jsonrpc":"2.0","id":0,"method":"condenser_api.get_account_history","params":["timcliff", -1, 10]}'

Post Rewards

The rewards from this post are going to @steem.dao as a 100% beneficiary. This helps to support the proposals from community members to improve the platform and community.

You can vote for proposals here: https://steempeak.com/me/proposals

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency