Promoting Content (Part 2) - Promoting Steem on other social media (Video Version)

Hi Everyone,

promoTHUMB2STEEM.jpg

This is the second video in my series focused on the promotion of Steem content. The first video highlighted many of the available options to promote content on Steem and associated chatrooms such as Steem.chat and DiscordApp.

In this second video, I explain how I promote my Steem content on other social media websites. The internet has a wide selection of social media websites to which you can share your content. The social media websites that I discuss in this video are:

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • Minds
  • Reddit

To watch the video, click on the YouTube link below

Quick summary of the video


After posting on Steem, a user can scroll to the bottom of their post just before the start of the comments section to find several options for sharing content to other social media. These options include Facebook, Twitter, Reddit and LinkedIn, see image below.

promotion_LINKS.jpg

Facebook


Facebook has an option to set up your own business page. These pages are ideal for sharing your Steem content. Once shared to the Facebook page, you should then share the content to Facebook groups. It is important to share to groups that are relevant to your content. It is also important to add a brief description of the post before sharing to the groups so that the people that see your content in these groups have a reason to click the link you shared. If people comment on the shared content, it is a good idea to respond to these comments. It is also important to change the wording slightly after several shares so that Facebook does not identify your shared content as spam.

LinkedIn


Not everyone’s content is best suited for LinkedIn. I write mostly about economics so it is generally quite well received. LinkedIn also has groups. I generally share directly to the groups. I include a brief description of the content of the post with the link. It is also important to engage with anyone that comments on the link.

Reddit


I am not a big user of Reddit. I generally just share to the subreddit that best fits the content I am sharing. It is possible to share to several subreddits. Reddit can be tricky sometimes, as there appears to be quite a high level of censorship. I have had my shares removed several times.

Minds


I copy the link of my Steem post to Minds and include a brief description of the content. I also paste the link and description into several of the groups to gain further exposure. Minds has an option to boost your post to reach more users. The cost of a boost is low and is priced in the tokens they use on the platform. I often boost my post to 500 or sometimes 1,000 users.

Instagram


For Instagram, I just share the thumbnail of my post and provide a very brief description of the thumbnail or a brief idea of the content of the Steem post that the thumbnail belongs to. Instagram allows up to 30 hashtags, I recommend using as many as possible as long as they are in some way relevant to the image you are sharing.

Conclusion


Engaging with users not on Steem will not immediately increase the value of your posts but both you and the Steem community will benefit if your posts can attract new users to the Steem platform. It would be great to see an avalanche of Steem posts on as many of the other social media as possible.

This brings me to the end of this very short video series regarding promoting your content on and off Steem. I hope you have found it useful. I have also presented the content of these videos in detail in written posts. These posts can be accessed in the links below.

Written versions of the content in the series


Promoting Content (Part 1) - Promoting content on Steem

Promoting Content (Part 2) - Promoting Steem on other social media

Final Message


It is important to have a good quality product, service or in the case of Steem, content. Good quality content does not count for much if very few people see it. That is why promoting your content is essential.


More posts


If you want to read any of my other posts, you can click on the links below. These links will lead you to posts containing my collection of works. These posts will be updated frequently.

Collection_1.jpg

Collection_2.jpg

Collection_3.jpg

level.png

Brand2018.gif

Steem - The Future of DApps

DAppsVID.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency