Dust threshold: still learning about the Steem ecosystem!

dust.jpg
source

Yesterday I did read a post from @timcliff with a solution to fight Spam on the Steem blockchain! You read his post here It is worth a read and for sure the comment section!
While I don’t support the proposed solution, Tim at least is trying to come up a solution. It is always harder to shoot down a proposed solution than to come up with one!
There was a lot of interaction going on in the comment section! This interaction learned me that there are different views on the Steem ecosystem. It is obvious that the bigger Steemains have a different view on it, than the newcomers!
Both are trying to do, their utmost best to make it a success, but still all groups have a different viewpoint. It will be difficult to find a solution which works for all groups on the Steem ecosystem, from whales to plankton, from investors to clients!

But there was also an eye opening for me. Things I did not yet knew about how the Steem ecosystem works and this all has to do with the value of the posts/comment.

Dust

Apparently there is some kind of dust threshold feature! I did always wonder why a value of $0.01 suddenly disappeared when the pay-out date was reached.
No I know the truth behind this. The system is designed to this. As long as the pay-out of a post or comment is below SBD 0.02 the pay-out will be set to zero!

This dust threshold was implemented as a countermeasure to spam postings! The idea behind it, is that it should have been temporarily, there were plans to remove it in Hardfolk 20. But the code is still life!
Correct me if I am wrong!

How does this impact us, small red fishes?

Well it does and it doesn’t!
With this new knowledge at my hand I need to change some strategies, and maybe you also should do this.
I will keep on upvoting posts like always, I will just make sure that if I’m the first to upvote that my upvote at least will be $0.02, which should be enough so that the Dust threshold wouldn’t kick in!
I will need to change the way I upvotes comments. Normally I always reward genuine comments on my blog with a $0.01 upvote. Well now I do know that this is wasting voting power! So, from now on if I will upvote a comment, I will make sure that it will surpass the dust threshold test! So, that it is a real reward and not just a token of appreciation!

Also, maybe we should take care of each other! If you do see a comment or post which is worth it, we should make sure that it would surpass the dust threshold.
If you do see, such a post, with a payout of $0.01, and the post/comment deserves some reward give it a little help with an upvote!

Fighting SPAM

It is good to see that more and more articles are popping up to fight the rape of the pool, bidbots, whale wars, scammers and SPAM. Measure have to be taken! Just like the interaction on the steem ecosystem has to increase!
It will be hard to find solution which actually solve the problem without cutting into good and healthy flesh!
Not every proposed solution will be a good one, but it can be an accelerator for other to think of a better one!
SPAM will be one of the most difficult ones to tackle. Take a look at your mailbox and see how many spam of flowing in! Lots of countermeasures are already taken here but still the spammers do find new way to get around it.
It is just like the war against doping in sports. When the doping fighters are finally capable of finding ways to discover new ways of doping, the next one already pops up!

My 2 cents!

Just my 2 cents, suddenly has a complete different meaning on the Steem blockchain! It is not only an expression but also some code!
What are you thinking about this (new) knowledge I did present to you? Will you change your behavior? Or will you change the way you are going to upvote some posts/comments?
Did you already knew it, of was it really new?
Do you have some solutions to fight spam?

Keep the faith,
Peter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency