Power Down

Thanks for the good times.
I will try to change my steem for some bitcoin.

I was promised decentralization and now Steemit Inc has been sold to Mr. Sun who will 'integrate Steem into the Tron blockchain'. So there is and always was a central authority. I do not like other blockchains, though.

I do not believe that independent steem nodes can be operated in a way that would cover the costs; If this was a good business, they would have never sold it.

People use steem for different reasons and I am sure some appreciate the takeover. I hope there is enough of them to buy up my tokens at a good rate. For me, all the reasons I was here for disappeared one by one until now I am told we will abandon the whole blockchain. I think this is more complicated than it might sound anyways, but not my problem anymore.

We have the only really useful and operational blockchain and that exactly seems to be the problem; the other chains (and their price) are all driven by dreams and speculation, while steem has a working product and the reality is not as shiny, as the chain is full of shitposts and becomes harder and harder to operate over time.
Others can still drive their price with announcements and promises, while steemit inc does not have this luxury anymore, but has to deliver while the boat is already in the water. And at that they have kind of failed, too ...

In case steem is not being abandoned, I can always power up again, and I would not mind another (last) steemfest in Amsterdam. I will keep using this account, but I will not miss my last chance of cashing out., while it is still worth something.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency