Hotel Gamboa, Panama City

A site with a military past

Hello everyone, a cordial greeting could say that I am new to this platform and glad to be here; How did I get here? Well, I could say that through my brother and brother-in-law who have been on this and other platforms for a long time, I have been exploring for a short time and I want to learn, know about you and also that you know me and learn from each other.

For example, the images I share are about the gardens of the Gamboa Hotel, located on the banks of the Panama Canal and which, before being a hotel, was a military occupation facility prior to 1999.

20170226_153138.jpg

20170226_153146.jpg

Today it is a place visited by both nationals and foreigners who are attracted by the beauty of the site and the views it offers both of the river that crosses in front and of the sight of the merchant ships that make their crossing through the canal.

In previous decades it was impossible to even get close to these sites since they were restricted areas. Why? Because, as I had mentioned previously, they were military areas until they were returned to Panama and later they were freely circulated. Today one can take a tour of this entire area from the city and it is as if one were in a large forest reserve that houses a great diversity of flora and fauna, it is truly fascinating.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency