Splinterlands Weekly Challenge - Efreet Elder

For this week’s challenge, the focus is on the Fire splinter Card, Efreet Elder. His most notable ability is Last Stand, which grants you increased stats if he is the last monster standing. Last Stand is an amazing ability, if it’s paired with the right monster, I just do not feel Efreet Elder is the right one for it.

Featured Card – Efreet Elder

As you can see, he starts with 1 Magic attack, 3 Speed and 8 HP, which is underwhelming in my opinion for the Fire splinter as the splinter does not prioritize Magic attacks.

The Battle
Ruleset : Noxious Fumes

Ok, confession time. I actually did not use Efreet Elder for this battle, my opponent did. I just used this battle to show how/why/when not to use this card. And look, my opponent even has a 4 star card that bumps the Magic Attack and Speed up by 1.

Noxious Fumes is the literally the best time to use Gelatinous Cube (which we both did) and not the ideal situation to use Efreet Elder as the poison damage will mean he dies before the self-healing Gelatinous Cube. This way, his Last Stand ability does not pop.

image.png

I have included the battle here if you would like to see how it all pans out (Spolier : it ends at Round 29…..in a draw).

Final thoughts
I have used Efreet Elder several times in my battles and faced him as an opponent as well, and he always leaves me underwhelmed. Even when he’s the last man standing, the stat boost didn’t really make a difference. I can’t envision in my mind which setup he would make his 6 mana cost worthwhile as there are so many better Fire Splinter monsters.

That being said, all my experience with Efreet Elder is at the lower star levels, could be he might be a beast at max level when he gets the Phase ability. If you have any suggestions, do share them with me as I always enjoy learning new ways to use cards.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency