Chaos Legion Packs – Breaking it down

So….the Chaos Legion Set Presale dropped just before the AMA on Friday, and chaos did ensue. I thought it was best to take a few days to digest all the information and all the comments before deciding how I was going to proceed. Just need to put it out there that I do not have heaps of SPS (currently 1k) or lots of money to spend on this.

First up, I must say great work to the Splinterlands team again for all the great work and although I think the $4 per pack is a little high, I do get their point of view of making it more expensive and having less packs minted as they had originally intended. On hindsight, me thinking that they will stay at $2 like the Untamed packs was a little naïve if you compare them to all the other blockchain games on offer.

Also there seems to be some confusion, maybe among the very new SPL members about the voucher system and what not. The announcement is centered around the presale of 1M packs out of the 15M to be released. So the voucher system is meant to be for the first 1M packs and potentially for the next 1M as well (my guess). This system works in favour of the non-whales, despite what everyone is complaining about. Yes, the members who have been playing for a very long time and amass a big deck will get more vouchers. I think its fair they should be rewarded. The voucher system stops the institutional whales from buying big early on, hopefully dampening their enthusiasm. Ask yourself honestly, how many were planning on buying like 1,000+ packs before this news and now having doubts….

And the thing is, everyone can still buy large once the presale is over where there might be 10M+ packs on offer. And for the newer members out there, it is recommended that when you open a pack, you have Legendary & Alchemy potions on hand. You would want 5 of each for a pack, so unless you have been playing for ages and banking them, guess what, you need to buy them, all 10,000 of them in total for your 1,000 packs.

What I am trying to say is be patient and if you can’t get everything you want during the presale, you still have some time once the dust settles and get those packs. This gives you time to get those potions and save some money. But if you get some presale vouchers, go buy the packs (with SPS preferably) as the benefits are quite good.

Presale Benefits
As with any presale, there has to be some benefits to make it worthwhile.

Pro
• 10% discount if paying with SPS.
• Limited edition promo card (Guaranteed at least one limited-edition promo card for each 50 packs purchased and at least one gold foil limited-edition promo card for each 1,000 packs purchased).
• Purchasing 1,000+ packs grants you the “The Legionnaire” title which should give you a boost to SPS airdrops.

Cons
• Vouchers required (only time will tell how much they will be worth/cost).

There will be 13 new airdropped cards each time the 1M packs are sold (this should start once the first 2M packs are sold). Packs bought during the presale are also eligible for this airdrop. There are also bonuses for buying in bulk as per below.

• 100 - 499 - 10% additional pack bonus
• 500 - 1999 - 15% additional pack bonus
• 2000+ - 20% additional pack bonus

What you can do?
Personally, I am looking at this from an investment point of view and trying to create a budget of what I would like to spend. Reviewing all my cryptos and seeing what their returns are so that I can justify moving them into SPL. I was planning on moving some BNB into SPS, but given how red the market is at the moment, I might be in a holding pattern for this week. I am however pooling my other idle cryptos and trying to buy SPS if they do not get too expensive. Based on what was announced, SPS will continue to have a major role in this game, so if you are planning on staying in this for the long run like me, SPS is the way to go.

One last thing that I picked up from this announcement that piqued my interest is the following paragraph.

image.png

The last sentence says that SPS & DEC used will be valued at the current external market rate. It’s unclear if this will be a dynamic rate, if it is, we could potentially see more in-game assets (i.e. quest potion) being valued in Fiat currency, but available for sale using Credits, DEC & SPS. As a fan of the quest potion, I hope this means they become more affordable. With the chests rewarding 50% cards now, this would be a great boost to everyone playing.

Do share with me your thoughts on the announcement and if any of my interpretation is inaccurate. I would like to know what everyone’s strategy is for this Chaos. Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency