Demetrius Johnson supports knees to downed opponent

Mighty Mouse Demetrius Johnson has never been a favorite fighter of mine, but neither is really anyone else in the flyweight division. With rare exceptions it just isn't very likely that someone the size of me when I was in 7th grade, is going to be able to do much damage to another guy that weighs as much as I did in 7th grade.

Despite the fact that Johnson was the champ for years and and only lost via decision after defending said belt for 11 boring times. I don't recall a Demetrius Johnson fight ever being exciting. Sorry, but I just don't like the "wittle guys" even though I am certain that all of the could quite easily clean my clock.


src

Johnson was traded to ONE Championship for Ben Askren (that didn't work out so well for UFC) and since competing at ONE he has done reasonably well.

Even though I don't particularly car for the guy, or his weight divisions in general, I do have a lot of respect for him on his stance towards downed opponents. This move is not allowed in UFC but it is allowed in ONE Championship and Johnson himself was actually defeated by this move in a recent bout. It was the first time that a Johnson fight has ever ended with him being KO'd.


Sequence-19.00_00_01_10.Still003.jpg
src

This move, if it was done in UFC and most other fighting promotions, would have resulted in opponent Adriano Moraes being disqualified, probably getting fined, and potentially getting fired outright. However, in ONE Championship it is just part of the game.

Why it is not allowed in UFC has always been a bit strange but I understand why it is there. A knee to the head can not just hurt someone, but it can kill them and I think the idea behind all prize fighting is to kind of have people get hurt but not quite die.


Demetrious-Johnson-ONE-Championship.jpg
src

I get annoyed when fighters try to make excuses after a loss and unfortunately it happens quite a lot. Not only did Mighty Mouse not make an excuse about "if this fight had been in UFC I wouldn't have lost" but instead he went on the record to say that he believes knees to a downed opponent should be allowed and despite the fact that knees being allowed very well could be the only reason why he lost his championship fight vs Adriano Moraes he is out there not making excuses but stating that all the organizations should allow knees to downed opponents.

I don't really know what to think about this but I do believe that if they were allowed we would have a lot less boring matches and probably a few more smashed open skulls.

What do you think?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency