Splinterlands Share Your Battle Weekly Challenge MAGI OF CHAOS



Back To Splinterlands -Building My Team to Level 2 Summoners - Playing in Silver 1

I've been doing very well with my account as late. I'm still playing level 2 summoners, and I'm trying to complete the deck as much as possible to fill any holes for cards I don't have. I still need a number of legendaries from chaos, and a decent amount of Rick watchers cards. I hope to fill them out and get them all before they go to print. I know I'm missing many of the unnamed cards but at this point they're just out of my price range. I'm also trying to get as many gold foil common and rare cards as I can, increase my earnings. Summoners are also a Target but lowering a priority list.

page br 1.png

Weekly Challenge - MAGI OF CHAOS

()

Edition: CHAOS
Rarity: EPIC
Element: NEUTRAL
Attack: MAGIC
Abilities: N/A
Health: 5
Speed:
Attack: 2

Reasons Why I like it
Primary reason to love Magi of chaos is that it is a neutral magic card. They're just not many neutral magic cards to start with, and especially not ones that have five health and a two magic as a base attack. It's a pretty good card especially with certain seminars like obsidian or even Zaku. I actually have not been playing it very much, mostly because I have not been playing much magic lineups as late. As I continue to play in silver one I am getting beat if I have more magic lineups, so I'll either have to move towards playing them, or find a better counter.

The Matchup

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_736b65a25ef665325ae421608dec562e&ref=senstless


image.png

MANA: 34
RULES: Back to Basics: Monsters Lose all abilities.
RULES: Reverse Speed. Monsters with the slowest Speed attack first and have the highest chance of evading attacks.
SPLINTERS: Fire, Water, Earth, Dragon

match up and possible gameplay thoughts.

Wow 34 mana is enough mana to build any sort of lineup you could really want, it is the back to basic rule set will dominate. Most of the time back to basic rule sets dominated by magic cards since I can always attack, and never miss. Occasionally if the man is high enough Zaku can sneak in to pick up significant splash damage on cards. I have seen a few other summoners used effectively the counter magic or arranged attacks to reflect the arrows or the magic bag. Given I don't have any of those at the correct level I'll be playing for maximum magic damage.

  • Summoner Obsidian
    Here I'm going for that magic boost, hoping to do as much damage as possible as quickly as possible. The fact that it's reverse speed game as well will also help most of my magic cards as they are lower speed and other types of attack.

  • First position HILL GIANT
    One of my favorite tank cards for Earth because it's only three men but yet provide seven health. Not expecting it to do much damage, more or less absorb as much as possible.

  • Second Position MYCELIC MORPHOID
    Just sneaking in a one man of gold foil card to boost my potential earning to soak up some more attack before my primary attackers move to the front line

  • Third Position REGAL PERTON
    Typically one of my favorite magic cards, but considering it's the first speed will be one of the last two attack, it also only has one base magic didn't first so I don't lose my heavy hitters to live

  • Fourth Position MYCELIC SLIPSPAWN
    You could argue I should put my silic slip spawn in third position because it has more health, it would be around longer to protect regal but I chose in this time to put it here. I'm hoping it'll be around longer to do too damage to three damage as much as possible

  • Fifth Position MAGIC OF CHAOS
    Here's where I decided to put Magi of chaos, five health, two base, two speed swelling back of the lineup.

  • Sixth Position GOBLIN PSYCHIC
    Paradise gold foil goblin here same reason two base magic, five health hoping that this heavy hitters can really clean up the lineup

page br 2.png

Opponent Lineup & Match Play

  • Summoner: Bortus a great counter to my city in, it means an older get a magic boost in this game is going to be much more painful to play out
  • CRUEL SETHROPOD typical little thing card, will only have it for health it also has four shield and can stop melee and range attack
  • HARDY STONE FISH I get another solid play shield plus health just to absorb some attacks
  • DJINN OSHANUNUS this is going to be the card that's the most painful to get through since it's in the middle lineup. Love and health will really make it harder considering I'm only going to be doing one to two magic at the time
  • VENARI WAVESMITH another magic attack just like me to base magic, I'm starting to get a little concerned
  • SEA STALKER holy crap the sea stalker looks like an amazing card. Well it has three speed and five health the biggest thing I'm concerned about is the fact that it has five ranged attack, that can change this game basically
  • AZMARE HARPOONIST another range attack, doing three damage.

Thoughts just glancing at the line ups

Not feeling too good about my lineup at this point the fact that they do 12 base damage between range and magic means I think I'm at a significant disadvantage in total potential hits. It's likely that without some misses or some luck I'm going to lose this match. Looks like I need to go out and buy myself a sea stalker.

Round 1

image.png

Starting off is like usual, except in reverse. When I normally say speed kills, this time it literally does being fast it's the worst thing you can be. Luckily for me most of magic cards are slower than a range of tax so I have an opportunity to do a little bit of damage first. I do manage to knock out the first two cards in their lineup until the Jenna Shea gets up the front, but I also lose my first two cards. At this point I'm looking a little light is even regal is down in health.


Round 2

image.png

Round two's going to start off much the same way but I honestly don't have enough damage to even take out the gym of Oshannus this round while I know I'm going to lose regal and mycelic slipspawn will take a significant amount of damage. Luckily for me not only did sea stalker attack first and hit regal, but then the harpoonist actually missed slip spawn.

Round 3

image.png

Even after that mess I'm still not sure things are going to go my way. After Oshannus drops, slip spawn falls to the range attacks. My only saving grace is two of their attackers are ranged so if they get the first position they won't do any damage.

Round 4

image.png

Things are coming down to the wire and I'm still not sure if I can pull this out. Around four does start with a bang as I managed to knock out the tank and see stalker moves to first position. This might have been a Miss plan their part as their biggest hitter is now attacking, while harpoonist with one additional health is still in the back row doing two less damage.

Round 5

image.png

It looks like I'm going to win this game just because of the order of their range of tax. The range tax have been flipped it's likely they would have won because one attack could have taken out my goblin instead of needing two rounds to do it.

Round 6 - 9 Victory Formation

image.png

Getting to attack first with slow speed means I moved to harpoonist in the first position and just attack until it's done. Menace to squeak out a win but I don't feel very good about it.

1UP-devider-comment.png

Thoughts

I think the use of Magi of chaos who is a good choice here and it did exactly what I wanted it to. I still got exceptionally lucky and most likely should have lost if they would have flipped the order the harpoonist and to see stalker. It's something I'll have to consider for my own lineup in the future. I think having all the magic I did was helpful since I was still attacking from the first position, and I did get lucky with a mess but overall I'm pretty confident small tweaks in the lineup would have resulted in a much different outcome.
~~@senstless
#sbi-skip

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency