That, My Friends, Was a Dragon

image.png

Greetings, battlemages! Care to witness a battle with a DRAGON summoner?

Screenshot_20210821-075137-127.png

From the very start, it wasn't clear who would be the victor... Or was it?

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_8aad1773a9a17f3009e254d769796c47&ref=proto26

The water splinter is my favorite. I usually pick Alric Stormbringer and use a while bunch of magic cards. However, this is a melee monsters only ruleset so I had to go a different route. So of course I went with Daria Dragonscale. I would have actually picked the sea monster as my tank, and I did in a previous iteration of this contest post but then I realized I wasn't following the rules (I was using a dragon summoner and a dragon monster [manticore]). Healing works wonders in low mana battles, however, I needed to ration my mana if I wanted to use to demented shark. So for 1 less mana, I picked one of my favorite cards: the Frost Giant. He was perfect for this battle because there are only physical attacks allowed and he is tough.

I would have also chosen the waverunner as my reach ability monster but 5 mana was not worth it when I could use the eels for less mana and with the same stats. Unfortunately, my low level Daria makes the waverunner weaker by 1 attack point when compared with Alric.

To maximize my damage per round, I selected the battering ram, a very nice neutral card, that I picked up from the market. Then I placed the demented shark right behind him. At first I though this was a mistake, thinking that I should have put the shark first to maximize the number of attacks by the ram. However, this turned out to be a good decision since my opponent had 2 sneaky monsters attacking the back (which is why I put the furious chicken there as a meat shield). They would have probably taken out my ram.

Had healing been allowed, I still would have won thanks to my double attack buff. It was kind of pointless to use a summoner that have all the monsters the reflect ability in an a melee battle but maybe that was all that was available. Zintar Mortalis would have been more devastating to my setup. This plus the healing ability of the haunted spirit, had it been allowed, would have made my victory uncertain.

That's why I like the Dragon splinter, namely Daria Dragonscale. When coupled with the inspire ability, it can lead to some quick and easy victories!

What do you think of my battle? What would you have done differently? Do you think it would have worked? Let me know; I would love to talk strategy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency