This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Splinterlands, the obvious, not so obvious, part 6...


obvious6.jpg

Hi everyone! Time for another explainer for Splinterlands, because it's a great game but with a steep learning curve, but then again... most good games have the same.
In the splinterlands collaboration with the Wasder app, we made a new guild to support and guide new players, and I started writing explainers to refer to, because it's just too much to simply tell people in our discord server.

Are you a new player who wants a nice team to work with and get some advice and support where needed? Feel free to join our Discord server.

In my explainer series I made some posts before:

Getting started in Splinterlands.

Explaining Brawls

The importance of speed.

Battle basics, rulesets and card placement.

Last weeks, I made the first posts in my 'The obvious, not so obvious series'
You can find part 1 here.
You can find part 2 here.
You can find part 3 here.
You can find part 4 here.
You can find part 5 here.


banner 002 (untamed).png

For us Splinter junkies some things are so obvious, while they are not at all for players starting and learning the ropes, so I want to talk about some basics and strategies I'm using in different rulesets to help you guys get some guidance because there's just too much to remember. In my country we have a saying, literally translated it goes: you can no longer see the wood because of the trees 😅

In my own gameplay doing ranked battles, brawls and sometimes a tournament I'll try and write down tips I can talk about here, I'll try to make 2 or 3 tips in every edition, depending on how long my post is because no one wants to read for 15 minutes right?

This season, it's pretty tough again, especially for player with lower decks, where the bots simply choose the team that has the statistics to win, human's use logic but that doesn't always beat statistics.

So if you struggle, know you're not the only one, my alt account has level 2 summoners and a decent deck, but my win rate for this season is under 50% 😣


image.png

same player (me), better cards make a difference:


image.png

somehow, it's better in wild league...


image.png

This is just to let you guys know, not only beginners struggle!
and a nice bridge to the first tip of today.... :

#1: When you struggle to win, switch league.

Try switching to wild or, if you're playing in wild, back to modern, when I get a 4x losing streak I switch to the other league, if you keep doing this, I think you earn more chests in a season.

#2: Sometimes when options are limited, just try to make the least bad team.

Is that even good English? 😅
As an example, I had a Keep Your Distance ruleset, with only earth and life available. With only archers available to choose, these two splinters are not my first choice at all!
My opponent has the same problem of course, so if this happens, just make the best team you can, although you think your team sucks 😆


image.png

My logic to make this team was to put a healer in front, when the enemy doesn't do a lot of damage to the first position, the tank will just heal itself back, behind the tank higher HP cards, and at the back some small monsters. I put the Arbalest all the way to the back because this is my main damage dealer.

You can watch the battle unfold for yourself here.

#3: You can even win without ANY attacking cards...


image.png

And it is pretty funny 😁 This was a low mana keep your distance / noxious fumes battle, so my thinking was... I knew my life deck had a card with immunity for the poison, so I just needed to outlast my opponent who DID take poison damage every round.


You can watch the battle unfold for yourself here.

Only 3 tips feels a little short to me... let's make a fourth!

#4: In certain rulesets, using martyr cards is so important!

In rulesets like Super Sneak, Equal Opportunity and Target Practice when you know where the hits are going to land OR Earthquake and Noxious Fumes when low HP cards like martyrs are going to die fast, you can exploit this by putting martyr cards on key positions.
As an example I want to show you this Tournament battle with Earthquake battle and Born Again. My martyr will die, get resurrected by the Born Again ruleset, dies again, gets resurrected by Adelaide Brightwing and then dies again, boosting the surrounding cards THREE times!!


image.png

My opponent knows this trick too, so we both had crazy damage outputs when the martyr finally died and wasn't resurrected anymore.


image.png

It was a close finish with only the enemy Uriel left standing against my Chaos Dragon, but I won.

You can watch the battle unfold for yourself here.

Well, that's it for this week! I hope to see you again next week or in my Battle Mage Secrets post tomorrow 👋


splinterlands banner.png
Thank you for reading!!!

If you haven't made an account already, please consider using my referral link to sign up, I'll happily send the amount I get for your signup back to you in DEC or SPS to help you start.

Have a great day!

splinterlands banner1.png