Finding value in Splinterland cards – Axemaster

Hi all,

Introduction

Another post in this series. Thank you for your support in the previous posts 😊

This series intends to determine if there are other aspects of cards that may contribute to increasing its value. Based on your feedback I can focus on more/other things – so feel free to tell me where you want me to go into further detail.
I include some analysis on where the cards fit in terms of strategy and a market analysis of the price of the card in previous months. Feel free to suggest what more do you want me to look into.
In this edition I will be looking at the Axemaster.

Card ID, Editions, and Number of Cards

This card’s ID number is 280, and it is a card from the Reward set.

Total printed: 40000

FoilPrintedBurnedPower/BCX
Regular390951201000
Gold778750000

(Data from splinterlands API)

Rarity type: Epic
Splinter: Water

Card stats

Strategy

I will be focusing my analysis on the usefulness of this card in lower leagues (i.e. bronze to gold).
This card’s main advantages are its Double Strike ability, Speed (4), and 2 ranged damage. These main advantages combined make the Axemaster card very powerfull. Great for medium/high mana battles, it costs 7 mana but brings a lot of value to the water splinter. From the background, it deals double damage at high speed (hence rarely misses). This is one of those cards that can really make a difference, so I would advise going for it if you can. Currently at about 5$ it still is a significant cost, but I would say it is an important card if you aim to eventually climb from Gold.

Market Analysis

A top card, with the corresponding price tag attached, but an interesting investment.
Let’s look at the last 6 months.

Looking at the graph, the following can be concluded:

  • in regular foil, a slight downward trend can be observed, although the card does not seem to lose a lot of value. There is a resistance at around 4.5$, which we will see if it holds in the following weeks.
  • in gold foil, the card lost a significant value in the last days, dropping to half its value. This may be an opportunity if you believe in the value of the card.

Please let me know in the comments if there is any further information you would like me to include in future analysis.
Stay safe!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency