Catching my opponent in a snare during an earthquake

This week's Splinterlands battle challenge theme is Earthquake.

Tonight while doing my daily quest I cam across a small mana earthquake rule and wanted to share my battle. I utilized the snare ability to win it.

The battle against @trevorlp97 can be found here
dscfwh.png


a0wzng.png

Rules was earthquake

With a 13 mana cap

Earthquake Means that non-flying monsters take 2 melee damage at the end of each round.

Summoner Selection:

I selected Zintar for 2 reasons with this rule. The first reason is that my Zintar is level 4 and my Contessa is only level 3, which means my Zintar can play higher level monsters. The second reason for choosing Zintar was that I thought I was more likely to confront a melee attack than ranged.




Monster Selection

1rst Position: I choose Lord Arianthus as my tank. Lord Arianthus is a great tank for Earthquake rule because he has shield so he only takes 1 damage from the earthquake each round instead of 2. He also comes equipped with void and reflect to take care of any magic attacks. The head also is only 5 mana so it was a good pick for a low mana game tank.




2nd position: I used soulstorm for this position because it has flying and snare. This is a deadly combination for the earthquake rule. I also like the 3 ranged attack. The flying makes it so no damage from the earthquake and the snare catches my opponents 1rst monster in a snare if they are flying making them no longer fly.




Conclusion:
My strategy worked very well for this battle, between the void reflect from Lord A and the snare put on my opponents phantom soldier in the first round his phantom soldier was dead by the end of the second round. I think that is fairly impressive considering it's a 10 health monster and I only had 1 attack monster that was handicapped by Contessa.


Thoughts about the Earthquake rule
I like the rule as an overall whole, I am glad that the untammed cards bring more flying possibilties to the Life splinter to make it more playable in this rule. I normally switch up to a shielded tank(s) for play in this rule. Although sometimes it makes certain quests a little bit harder when combined with certain other rules. I would like to see a variant of Earthquake that does magic damage, that would be fun to play too.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency