Week 147 Splinterlands Art Submission - Torch Monkey NFT Design

Torch Monkey in After Effects

by Choof

Heres my submission for the week 147 Splinterlands Art Contest. I decided to give After Effects a try, and this is what I came up with.

FlameMonkeyGif.gif

I picked the Torch Monkey card because it was relatively simple, looked cool with a gold foil, and had a flame I could try animating.

Procedure:

  1. I separated many components of the card, including the monkey, damage/health/etc symbols, and text.
  2. After importing them in After Effect, I layered them out in 3D to give some depth.
    Screen Shot 2021-07-19 at 4.22.19 PM.png
  3. I fine tuned colors/lighting, and threw in a stock background video behind the monkey.
  4. Using some more stock effects, I added live flames to the monkeys orb.
  5. This was the fun step! I added some effects like glow and light sweep to snazz up the card a little.
    ezgif-7-62006d907f70.gif
  6. Next, I animated the camera and sat back as I watched it come life!
    Screen Shot 2021-07-19 at 4.19.38 PM.png
  7. I added a few more animations, played with curves, and tried to make the cards motion as smooth as possible.
  8. Final touch up. Fine tuning the lighting, colors, effects etc.

I tried to keep my design as similar to the original. Here is what the original looks like for reference:

Screen Shot 2021-07-19 at 12.25.46 PM.png

I hope you guys like it! I will surely be making more NFT related content in the future.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency