Splinterlands Weekly Challenge – Crystal Jaguar!!

image.png

Hi everyone, hope everyone is well and excited with all the recent changes to the #1 blockchain game. Kudos to the Splinterlands Team for not just the game changes as well as the security changes as well. Also a big shoutout to the @peakmonsters team for the upgrades to the card rental section. Showing rent CP/DEC is a godsend for frequent renters like myself and might have actually helped to stablise the EOS prices. Got to get it all out as I do not write frequently. But enough bootlicking, this is a battle share challenge.

The Crystal Jaguar is a melee card from the Life Splinter which in my opinion starts to shine at Level 4 where it gets the Thorns ability and is at it’s best at Level 9+ whereby it also gets the Retaliate ability. The Retaliate ability lets the Crystal Jaguar have a chance of attacking its attacker back. How sick is that!

image.png

Unfortunately, to play Lvl 9+ Common Cards, you would need to be in the Diamond League at least, so I am not able to show the true prowess of this truly awesome monster.

The Battle
Ruleset : Aim True and Up Close & Personal

This is actually one of the worst rulesets to play against a Life splinter as you shall see because the Life splinter has the best backstabber in the game, Silvershield Assassin. It also has the Feral Spirit, a fast and high damage backstabber. I actually wanted to write a guide to how to counter the Silvershield Assassin, so this battle share came at the perfect moment.

This was a 30 mana fight, so easy enough to accommodate all the deadly melee monsters the Life Splinter has to offer.

image.png

Whoa, what an unfair match-up! 5v6 and all max level. And there are 3 backstabbers with the addition of Elven Cutthroat as well as Daria Dragonscale who has +1 to Melee. Good thing I have both the Crystal Jaguar and the Crystal Werewolf. It’s Thorns Galore! On hindsight, As the Earth Splinter was available, Mylor would have been the #1 choice if I had him. Renters can’t be choosers they say.

image.png

My Crystal Jaguar was down within the first 3 moves, but look at the health of the three backstabbers 😉. Looks like I might be in with a chance maybe……. Watch the battle unfold here and see the ending. Spoiler alert coming up!

Final thoughts
Life splinter is my favourite splinter to play as it is quite defensive with some high damage troops mixed in. The Crystal Jaguar is a must have rental for me due to it’s great defensive abilities and being only 4 Mana and common, so it fits into a lot of rulesets. As you can see from the battle above, good defence can also be good offence. I was lucky that I noticed my opponent using this team lineup and was able to effectively counter it. So if you aren’t checking your opponent’s lineup regularly, I would advise you to do so. I love it when a plan comes together!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency