My favorite Prayers

20190612_155017.jpg

O Lord, make me an instrument of your Peace:
Where there is hatred, let me bring Love.
Where there is offense, let me bring forgiveness.
Where there is discord, let me bring the Union.
Where there is doubt, that I carry the Faith.
Where there is error, let me bring the Truth.
Where there is despair, let me bring Hope.
Where there is sadness, let me bring Joy.
Where there is darkness, let me bring the Light.
O Master, do not let me look so much:
To be consoled as much as to console.
To be understood, how much to understand.
To be loved, how much to love.
For it is by giving that one receives;
Forgetting oneself, that lies;
Forgiving, that one is forgiven;
By dying, he is resurrected to Eternal Life.

I like Saint Francis' prayer more than the Lord's Prayer among Catholic prayers. However, even if this prayer is related to the saint, it is said that he did not write it himself.

It was first published in France , in the ecclesiastical magazine La Clochette , by Father Esther Bouquerel in December 1912. The text was in French, anonymous, and was entitled Belle prière à faire pendant la messi . In Italy the prayer appeared for the first time in the Osservatore Romano on January 20, 1916. It is traditionally attributed to St. Francis even if there is no evidence of it: according to the historian Christian Renoux the attribution to the saint would have occurred in the context of French Protestantism , but in any case in a Franciscan context. wikipedia

kakaotalk_20210911_191319978_03.jpg

This is a prayer written by a calligrapher on November 25, 1986. In Korea, it is called a 'prayer of peace'. This prayer is only a promise that arouses good intentions. So this is my favorite prayer along with the Metta Sutta in Buddhism.

ds02aihvaaahzr8.jpg
Metta Sutta

20190611_150453.jpg
Basillica di San Francesco, assisi, 06/11/2019

20190612_140150.jpg
Basilica of Saint Clare, Assisi, 06/12/2019

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency