This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The frustration and difficulty of fighting spam on Steemit

While flagging some spam the other day, I noticed the user had many accounts posting similar stolen and copypasta content and posting up to 10 times a day or more. I flagged most of it using up a lot of voting power in the process but was then contacted by the spammer.

Apparently, flagging his posts was because I was jealous.



He tried resteeming posts I resteemed to shield his own posts from flags and disguise his profiles.

I've reported all the accounts to @patrice at SteemCleaners and took care of the ones I could do myself.

Trying to stop spam and explain why on Steemit is virtually impossible due to the desire to make money with as little effort as possible and the ease it can be done. It is also very unrewarding, not only do you need to sacrifice your stake to counter their spam, you expose yourself to being flagged back.



200.gif

While trying to flag me back, he accidentally flagged (or purposely) posts he resteemed on his profiles.

Fortunately, they usually have almost no Steem Power but it is still a frustrating and seemingly endless process. The amount of low effort, stolen, plagiarized content on Steemit is overwhelming.

themarkymark.png

My recent popular posts