Sleep Deprived!

They say you can die from sleep deprivation. I believe it. Not trying to find out though but I promised myself that I would do my first post before I went to bed. It's midnight. I've just celebrated the last 24 hours of my 59th birthday. It seems like an odd kind of number and because I'm not really into numerology, I'll take it as a "prep" year for the BIG
"6-0". 60. Where did all the time go! I was just in elementary school (we didn't really have nursery school or day care back then.) Then at 12 years old, we "graduated" to junior high school and enter the 7th grade. There were no "middle" schools then. After that "I graduated" to high school (I know they still have those) and went on to college at San Francisco State University.

Oh, I forgot to say that I was born and raised in San Francisco, California. Upon leaving college and working in banking, insurance, fashion, and many other unrelated pursuits, I got married and had kids - cuz that's what you do. I changed lanes and began to work in health care - pediatric health care. One of my favorite memories was caring for children who were diagnosed with pulmonary diseases such as cystic fibrosis or in neurological symptoms such as Grand Mal seizures. There was never a dull moment but what an awesome opportunity to love on these little ones. However, there was one patient who was not a "little one". He was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis and had lived into his 40's. Many don't reach that age. Anyway, when he knew that he only had about 1 year to live, he bought a sports car, purchased a nice house, had it furnished rather nicely and lived out the rest of his days with a bang. He left a lot of debt, too, but he had no family. Where did that debt go? Did we as tax payers pay a piece of it somewhere?

This is the line of thinking when you are sleep deprived. Must go to sleep . . . . now!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center