Share My World: Day 2 Avalanche Lake Hike

On Day 2 of our Glacier National Park adventure we hike Trail of Cedars and continued to Avalanche Lake and went Kayaking on the Hungry Horse Lake.

Avalanche Lake Hike
This hike gets a 7/10

Sara's RatingPart of hikeMy thoughts
2Access to trailParking close to trail head. Limited parking, get there early!
1Difficultymoderate, 4.5 miles and 730 feet elevation gain
1ViewsYou are in Montana! The hike follows a river a lot of the time, there were parts of the hike I didn't care for
2DestinationBeautiful Lake, with at least 6 waterfalls going into it
1Time on trial3.5 hours from sign, 3 hours from falls

As I mentioned we left from Avalanche gorge and hiked toward the lake. To be honest it wasn't the prettiest hike and I wondered why we were hiking for so long. Jodi and I kept saying the lake better be worth it. There were definitely beautiful parts along the way which of course, I photographed!

The trail followed the river much of the way which was great!


Even the dead trees were beautiful in their own way.

The first view of Avalanche Lake


Group picture.
We sat on a log and ate dinner at the lake. It was peaceful and beautiful.

Me at the lake, my leg after I fell getting the intro picture, @jarvie hiding from us.

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado
Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19
All the posts for April Trip to Utah
All the posts for Favorites of May Southern Utah Trip

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency