Johann Sebastian Bach, Trio sonate III, d moll (BWV 527) | Secrets of Orgn Playing Contest, week 142

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 142. I play Bach's third Triosonate, in d minor, BWV 527.

I've played the three movements of this Triosonata one by one as entries for earlier episodes in @organduo's contest. My next challenge was to play all three parts in one go.

thumbHive.jpg

Each part is in it's own right a challenge to play. All three of them in one go, is almost impossible. At least for me. I have no idea how @organduo of @contracbourdon manage to play entire concerts. I have great difficulties in playing a piece like this without too many mistakes. It's almost 19 minutes of the utmost concentration, and I am a bit wrung out when the Sonata is finished.

Nevertheless, it's a valuable learning experience. I am gradually training myself to play longer and longer pieces. This recording session taught me that besides all the technical difficulties, I have to keep watch of simple things like tempo as well. It's strange that whenever the technical difficulty in this sonata rises, instead of playing slower, I start to play faster. It's probably somethig to do with anxiety and not breathing properly.

Anyway, that's the next challenge: forget all the demanding technical stuff and pay attention to the basics of music making: tempo and phrasing.

Nevertheless, I am quite happy with this performance and with the fact I played an entire Bach Triosonata without too many wrong notes. On to the fourth Triosonata.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Sonus Paradisi, of the Klapmeyer organ in the St. Nikolai church in Altenbruch (https://www.sonusparadisi.cz/en/organs/germany/klapmeyer-organ-altenbruch.html).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency