Johann Christian Kittel, Lobt Gott ihr Christen allzugleich | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 111

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 111. I play Kittel's chorale prelude to "Lobt Gott ihr Christen allzugleich"

thumbHive.jpg

The initial plan was to play this for last week's contest, but it took a bit more practise than I had anticipated.

It is now 6 years ago that I started my website with newly engraved edition of (mostly) leeser known organ music. This composition by Kittel was the first one I published, engraved from the manuscript source.

Part of the motivation to start my website was to give myself a motivation to practise. I wanted to create a recording of each piece I published. As a result I have practised a lot in the past 6 years and have become a better player as a result.

So it was a bit of a surprise this piece took me two evenings to practise. As it was one of the first pieces I've published, in a time when playing took me a lot of practise, I had expected to play it more or less a vue. Well, not so.

Anyway, here it is for this week's contest. It's one of the nicest pieces of Kittel, I think.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Sonus Paradisi, of the Schittger organ in the St. Martini-kerk, Groningen (https://www.sonusparadisi.cz/en/organs/netherlands/groningen-st-martini.html)

Score available here: http://partitura.org/index.php/kittel-johann-christian-lobt-gott-ihr-christen-allzugleich/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency