Secrets of Organ Playing contest Week 142--Mendelssohn Sonata No. 4 in B-flat, II. Andante Religioso

Today's piece is the second movement (Andante Religioso) from the fourth Organ Sonata by Felix Mendelssohn. I've played this piece for some time, but it was nice to finally get a recording of it. I love Mendelssohn's music and I think it is underrated. His melodic writing is wonderful, and his creative tonal harmonic language fits right into the Romantic age. The composer calls for the use of two manuals and pedals in this piece. On the Great, I used a Principal 8' and Flutes 8' and 4'. The pedals had a 16' Subbass and 8' Bourdon and were coupled to the Great manual. On the swell, I used a reduced cornet of Bourdon 8', flute 4' and Sesquialtera 2 2/3' for that little bite in the sound. I hope you enjoy.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency