May 27, 2021--Lebhaft from Organ Sonata No. 2 by Paul Hindemith

Today's recording is from the second organ sonata of Paul Hindemith. This is the first movement. I am learning it for the AAGO certification. Often described as being cerebral or academic, I tried to make this movement a series of contradictions. Different registrations and different moods being compiled one on top of the other. The thing I love about this piece is that it is not a developmental sonata, where themes and ideas are contrasted and reconciled. Instead, the themes are presented one after the other, contrasting for their own benefit. A recurring theme occurs in a variety of "keys" throughout the work, providing repetition. However, the contrasting sections are not related to the primary theme. I find the piece incredibly ironic and quirky. I hope you will as well.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency