SECRET WRITER: My Entire Life I've Never Been ME

man-1461448_1280262df.jpg

Image Source: Pixabay

Ever since I was a kid, I always tried to fit in every single place I went. From doing stupid shit to make people laugh to agreeing with stuff I didn't agree with, I've never lived the way I wanted.

I created a public persona, that contains some aspects of me, but it's mighty influenced by the people I'm around. I always change my behavior according to the people I'm with.

Master of disguise.

venice-1246741_128015ecf.jpg

Image Source: Pixabay

I change my interests all the time, according to people I hang out with. Music styles are changed very regularly - I know stuff from a lot of genres, because you learn a ton when you adapt all the time.

I learn sports rules, because some friends like that sport and others like a different one.

Poker face.

mask-1431136_1280ec02d.jpg

Image Source: Pixabay

I never fully understood the scale of this thing until the end of school a couple of years ago. We created a card with our name that everyone from the class wrote something in. A girl I didn't really hang out with wrote:

"I feel like you have a poker face on all the time, but you are nice anyway...."

Another one wrote :

"...You're sort of a weirdo, never laugh much, but I'll miss you anyway..."

I realized that maybe I'm not that good at pretending...

Always liked, never understood.

My act created sort of a status where everyone likes me for a friend, because I'm always interested in what they have to say and act like I care and like what they say.

But I feel like nobody really cares for me anymore, because I never tell anyone what I actually like, just bits I let through. People sometimes try to get to know me better and I pretend that there is nothing deeper about me, just the things I do and say normally.

I like to stylize myself as kind of a simpleton, who likes stupid jokes and says weird stuff.

People know I'm not dumb, but I don't really show that. That doesn't always work, sometimes I get into a conversation about something I know a lot about and lose myself and start saying a lot of facts and intelligent quotes and people just stand there and look at me and are like : "What just happened?"

There is hope.

smog-1488984_128098c31.jpg

Image Source: Pixabay

I've always been me when I was alone. Lately, I've slowly stopped caring about what people think of me and started showing parts of real me. People thought I was acting rude haha - I stopped liking their stupid opinions and started voicing mine. I lost a few friends, but what kind of a friendship is it, if it's only based around me kissing your opinions?

I feel as I am getting more lonely, I'm becoming more ME, hopefully ME isn't an asshole

smartphone-1602486_128022d59.jpg

Image Source: Pixabay

-Secret Writer

To learn more about the Secret Writer, go here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center