DUST - a treasure trove of Sci-Fi goodness

Aside from gardening and writing my other favourite passion is Sci-Fi.

I love watching science fiction films and TV series particularly of the dystopian future and post-apocalyptic ilk.

But as I am in the habit of late night binge watching I have rather exhausted the supply of suitable content on Netflix and Amazon Prime.

So I was delighted today when I discovered the DUST channel on YouTube.

The channel was started in 2016 and now has a collection of several hundred short sci-fi films.

I have watched half a dozen so far and not a single one has disappointed.



DUST by Gunpowder & Sky

The DUST YouTube channel has 2.4 million subscribers and has had almost 300 million views.

The channel description says...

DUST presents thought-provoking science fiction content, exploring the future of humanity through the lens of science and technology.


The DUST website doesn't give too much information about who runs it or how it is funded, other than it is a product of the Gunpowder & Sky independent film studio.

The YouTube channel carries a wide range of films covering most sci-fi sub-genres of AI & robots, horror, humanist, adventure, comedy, horror etc.

Most of the films are around 10 - 20 minutes so ideal for someone like me who is always doing several things at the same time.

Among the ones I have watched so far a couple of stand-outs have been...

  • FTL


  • This Time Away (with Timothy Spall)



And if have an Alexa don't watch this one...

  • Bad Peter



I think I am going to be doing some hard core binge watching over the coming days. So if I go quiet on here you will know where I am!

Is there an active Sci Fi community anywhere on Hive? I thought there would be but I can't find anything here yet.

Here's to the future...

[ graphic from DUST / Gunpowder & Sky ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency