Scammer tried to scam me, so I trolled her

There has been a new scam going around targeting NFT artists. Scammers DM artists on different platforms (Twitter, Instagram, Discord) and they pretend to ask them to make commissions or collaborate. Then they will send them a Google Drive link (or even Dropbox) for the files needed for the commission. It will require them to download and once they do, it will install some sort of ransomware or whatever virus that will have the ability to lock your funds, or they will have access to it.

I'm not sure how exactly this works, but many artists have already been a victim considering it's really not that suspicious. Of course if you are a desperate artist needing a commission then you'll likely to fall a victim.

Once they gain access to your address, they will then demand some ETH for you to be able to get it back. As an artist, of course you would want your address back as your works are there, it serves as a COA, and your royalties from secondary sales are automatically going there... forever.




I received an Instagram DM

Thank goodness I've already known about this scam so when I had a DM from someone, I was already prepared.


IMG_3038.PNG


I always assume they are good people, but my suspicions are already heightened but I went along with it.




IMG_3050.PNG


Hahaha. I already knew she will make an excuse to really send the files on an external link but I insisted it will be sent on Instagram just to see what photo is she gonna use.




image0 (18).jpg


Duh. It's hiddenblade you're tryna fool? My friends jokingly call me FBI cos I am good at investigating XD but yeah I just did a simple reverse image search just to see where she got it. LOL. Try harder maybe.




IMG_3051.PNG


Lmao. "I trust you completely" fucking manipulator.




IMG_3052.PNG


Lol. She thought I would send out an actual work. XD The best part is she pretended it was all good and said "nice'' all while asking for my ETH address.

Of course I gave out Vitalik Buterin's address.




Be careful

These scams will continue to exist and they will improvise their tactics. Be very careful out there. Trust no one and don't download or open any files from a stranger.

Store your seed phrases and keys safely.


IMG_3491.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency