African foods vs Alternative foods - My Afang soup story

IMG-20180725-WA0017.jpg

Have you ever been emotional in your tummy?

I know you’d be thinking how can someone be emotional in the tummy. For me, two things makes my tummy emotional:

  • When you are stooling or having diarrhea or in naija slangs - Purging. This emotional instability is not good at all, kai it might embarrass the living daylight out of you.

  • When you are hungry, but you don’t know what to eat. You will be thinking of so many foods at the same time, hence hesitant in making a decision.

My case was the later and not the former ‘mbok’

Why was i hesitant?
Firstly, i didn’t want all this noodles or spaghetti food, it may feel so light and small like Holy communion served in church, i wanted something if i eat, i will feel like that house Jesus gave a parable about that was built upon the rock and not the sand.

Secondly, i had 2 steem coins as my reward for coming third in the @sankofa folktale contest. So i started plotting my african food.IMG_20180725_211217_898.jpg

As of today, 1 steem is about 534 naira, so with two steem coin i had about 1000 naira, so i asked myself, which food would you actually want to eat, lo and behold, like a revelation, afang soup landed in my spirit, kai, @pangoli will bear witness in his spirit what that soup can do to a man.

I set about my plan to make afang soup, what are the ingredients i’d need?

Recipe for my afang soup

  • Pieces of beef
  • Stockfish pieces
  • kpomo
  • small dry Fish
  • Periwinkle
  • chopped Water leaves
  • Pounded Afang leaves
  • Yellow Pepper
  • Palm oil
  • crayfish seasoning tablet
  • beef seasoning cubes
  • Water
  • Salt to taste

After looking at this, i had to remind myself i had 1000 naira, and i seriously must eat afang soup today, i took out my pen and paper, i checked what was available in the kitchen and small garden around, then made my list.

I had these around

  • Water leaf
    IMG-20180725-WA0018.jpg

  • Afang leaf
    IMG-20180725-WA0019.jpg

  • Seasoning cubes

  • Red oil

  • Salt and water

So i had to make a list to accommodate the 1000 naira i had.
IMG_20180725_202601_916.jpg

I went to the market, got the items, then set out to cook.

This is my method(you can copy it if you like)

  • Season the beef with little pepper, beef seasoning, salt
  • Steam meat in its own juice till it is almost dry
  • Add little water and cook till meat is almost soft
  • Add the stock fish, and kpomo, then cook till soft
  • Add the remaining water, crayfish , pepper, crayfish seasoning, and washed smoked fish and allow to start boiling then add the periwinkle
  • Boil for another 5 minutes. Taste for salt.
  • Add the palm oil and cook for 2 -3 minutes
  • Add the chopped water leaves and cook for 5 minutes
  • Turn off the heat and add the Afang and stir properly
  • Serve with Akpu and you have made it in life.
    IMG-20180725-WA0017.jpgIMG-20180725-WA0016.jpg

The rains are falling all day, my food is ready and yes it was made possible by @misterakpan’s sponsored @sankofa contest, thank you very much, i do appreciate and to other winners, i congratulate you.

Of course, my entry for this week contest is on its way, and i hope i win again so as to continue the ministry of african food. Lol

For my readers, african food trumps all these alternative foods borrowed from elsewhere, choose african foods and you can never have an emotional tummy.

Warning: I beg you in the name of God, please desist from using cutleries to eat this food, it is a sin against our African culture. Please wash your hands and eat to the glory of God. Lol

I hope you enjoyed my post, please upvote, comment and resteem if you want, DSS will not arrest you, ok bye.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now