This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Another trip to Kingston

Had to set the alarm for 4:49 due to the medicine the Doctor put me on on yesterday. Was able to roll over after that and put in a few more hours, finally waking a little after 9:00. Having not showered for a few days decided it was time and headed up to the marina's facilities and took a well received shower. Feeling fresh enough to meet other people the next stop was the marina where another week was paid up. The lady at the desk, not Kim who is there during the weekdays, said that the boat would have to be moved to another slip. She had already been asked by me where the gearbox oil from my 25 hour engine maintenance could be deposited, so my reply was that the boat could not be moved at the moment as the engine could not be turned on due to unfinished maintenance. That was technically true as we may have put a little too much gearbox oil in during maintenance and the idea is to take it down to the recommended level before starting it again. That seemed to placate her somewhat.

When back on the boat research was made into how my lawyer could get the payment for my property in Halifax into my bank account. Called the branch and they said only the branch number (which they gave me) and my account number would be needed. My account number is available online. Pulled all the info from over a couple of calls as well as when finally getting into my online banking. They all seemed to have a slightly different angle. The thought occurred to me that perhaps a face to face discussion of the transfer of a payment would make sense at some local branch. Getting the ducks in a row so to speak. Besides there was my laundry to pick up today!

This was a bit of a scouting mission as well. The full journey and needed transfers in and out to Kingston were not fully down pat. My feeling was that up a road from the Marina one would come to a No Frills grocery store and could hopefully find a bus going in town.

Leaving the marina the end of season races had finished for the day and they were giving speeches and no doubt trophies. It still makes me smile thinking pf being given the reward of "Skipper with the most spills" in my CYA course at 13.

end-of-season-race.jpg

So we headed down the hot country road with lovely shade upon its sidewalk.

shaded-walk.jpg

It may have been half of a kilometer or so when the No Frills appeared.

Thought to check or ask at the No Frills about passage to downtown Kingston. Talked with the fellow who was collected the shopping carts from the parking lot and he seemed convinced the 501 to down the road a bit once turning right from out of the store. Well perhaps his "bit" is larger than most. Or perhaps he made the wrong deliberation when gesturing and pausing with his arms as if approaching the intersection and should have chosen left.

Whatever the reason it had to be minimum a kilometer along a busy road.

to-501.jpg

to-501-2.jpg

Finally after a longer walk than planned we came to a stop for the 501. Surely the grocery cart attendant made an error in his deliberation. It may never be proven as my return trip was to unlock the transit puzzle of how to get from the Marina to downtown Kingston. For now we headed downtown to a TD on Princess which had been found on my phone.

The teller at the bank was great! He listened to my plan to have the monies from my property sale sent directly to my account. He compiled all the needed info from my account, adding transferring codes and such and even instructions and printed it all out on a one page print out. He gave me the full skinny.

Then it was off to the laundry to pick up my cloths. This place was in the tradition of the old wash houses. Don't think my T-Shirts have had such folding recently if at all and doubt they will again.

laundry.jpg

Once picking up the laundry my previous scouting from the day before had revealed where to pick up the 501. On the way out the road from marina a bus number 34 had passed me the other way so the driver of the 501 was asked if he crossed paths with the 34. He replied he did not yet perhaps the number 11 would take me down towards the marina as well.

After leaving the 501 at its end of the line the number 11 was taken with a warning from the driver that we would be doing the loop dee loop to get to Collin's Bay. My assumption was that he meant his full route. My assumption was correct.

It turned out to be a great ride though through well kept neighbourhood after well kept neighbourhood.

well-kept.jpg

well-kept2.jpg

well-kept3.jpg

And low and behold it stopped not far from the marina yet not in the direction of the No Frills but the other way! Well one could make the epic walk like at the beginning of this journey but the other way had a stop nearby. The secret of the transit puzzle has been broken. Kingston downtown will be a 10 minute or so walk away from now on.

Once back on board thought to contact my lawyer right away laying out to him the fully skinny on money transfers. It's my wish to avoid the stress of the last running about concerning our last closing date paperwork.

Had some catch up internet-ing, with curation on HIVE. Seriously considering swapping some BCH for HIVE to bring me back to Dolphin level. Expect to mull on that a bit.

moon-coming-on.jpg

May the wind be at your back!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing