By the forests on the fields - "Wild North Way"

Wild North Way I liked right away as soon as I learned about it. He is one of the few winter races in Ukraine that I would like to start a new running season. Although the distance is not very large - only 20 km. Several weeks before the start, the organizers made a surprise to the participants, extending it for 4 km. It became even more interesting from this: last summer, I already traveled a distance of 25 km on Trukhanov Island, but this did not disappoint me. Wild North Way - the first of the four trail runs of the "Wild" series.
This was not the first winter jogging event in my practice: last December, I ran across the terrain at Win Ternopil Trail, and the day before Wild North Way unexpectedly took part in the 12 km race at Salomon Wint Cross. Both had a good prospect for me to test my strength - a total distance of 36 km on the inland area. It really was new for me, from which the interest became even greater.
In January, I went back to training: after the winter holidays, I had to go back to the form.
wildnothway_2.jpg

Registration

There is nothing new: I quickly registered on the site vseprobegi.org. The following distances were available: 10 (12) km and 20 (24) (two laps of 12 km). It was possible to pick up the starting package both for the day and directly on the day of the race several hours before the start.

Road
The start town spread out in the Concha Zaspa House of Culture. You could get there from Myrrilica by bus to Obukhov. We got to the starting town from the city of Vyrlitsa by bus to Obukhov. I arrived there quite early: already at 9 o'clock I was in place, and we started at 12 o'clock. There was more than enough time to spend on admiring the local forest.
wildnothway_map.png

Running
As I already wrote above, two distances were available: 10 (12) and 20 (24) km. Participants of both distances started simultaneously. 10 (12) km had to run one circle, and 20 (24) km two. It was interesting that the second circle we had to run in the opposite direction - it's me, to be honest, a little alert.
wildnothway_start.png

It sounded like a start, everyone ran to the adventures. The first 8 miles were given me well - I overcame them in 1 hour and 28 minutes. For comparison, I spent the previous day at the same distance 16 minutes faster.
wildnothway_start.jpg

The route was very good: it lay in the woods, the surrounding fields and swamps, and there was also an asphalted area in Koncha Zaspa itself. This made it possible not only to enjoy the nature, but also to slightly help the legs in the marsh. Hydration points were waiting for runners at 6 and 8 miles, where I fed with water and banana.
wildnothway_3.jpg

It would have been nice if, after all, I did not run there after the first round as usual, and ended up at 10 (12) km. I immediately realized that something was wrong, because I knew that a whole circle was waiting for me. I quickly began to figure out what and why, and went to a new circle of adventures.

The next 12 kilometers were not easy for me. At 9 miles the fatigue of this and the previous race was already well-known, the desire to flee began to disappear, not motivating even landscapes. The legs had already refused to listen, and the thoughts about the finish were flashing in my head. Especially without hesitation, thinking about the beautiful nature around, I slowly approached the next item of hydration, which was waiting for me at 18 kilometers. There, I stayed for quite a long time, probably for about 15 minutes, restoring my strength through cookies, fruits and water. What were they tasty after 18 kilometers of fields and swamps!

I finished my last kilometers, honestly, with the last strength, as it seemed to me. But after 3 hours and 21 minutes, I was on the finish line, of which I dreamed the last 5 km. There I quickly poured a glass of fragrant tea.
I was filled with a sense of happiness, because in two days I managed to run as much as 12 and 24 km! (And from the fact that in the coming days, I do not have to run, and it will be possible to relax a bit, this feeling became even stronger).

Impression
I got a sea of ​​positive emotions and impressions. The run allowed me to enjoy the charm of the winter forest, to run in snowy fields and swamps, not to mention the test of yourself on a distance of 24 km on the average terrain.

Source: androshchuk.com/wild-north-way

#run
#running
#race
#life
#halfmarathon
#marathon
#health
#travel
#fitness
#sport
#sports
#trail
#blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency