I'd rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck. (Emma Goldman)

I guess you are writing and publishing and commenting on Hive because you would like to get rich. Maybe you tell yourself that you are here because you love the platform, but if all rewards were removed and it would turn into something like Medium or Reddit (with no rewards), I have a feeling that most of the contributors and active users would disappear quickly.

It is great to have goals and it is fantastic that Hive is a platform at which you can earn money, build a platform, communicate, and be rewarded for it at the same time. But, if we take a look at this little quote, I hope you will catch the essence of it, because there is some vital truth to it.

rose-3407234_640.jpg
Source: Pixabay

I'd rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck

Many people, in their hunt for gold, fame, fortune, and riches, will forget about the people surrounding them. They neglect their families, their spouses, and they just spend all their energy, both mental and physical, promoting their job and what they are working with.

Have you ever seen the movie Click with Adam Sandler? He is working his but of to get a manager position, and as a result, he just skips everything that has to do with family life. Just before he is about to die, he regrets it all as he understands that family is way more important.

And that is probably the essence of this quote from Emma Goldman as well. You might have a diamond necklace, but in the end, if you do not have anyone really caring enough about you to bring you fresh flowers and spend time with you, then it isn't worth much at all!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency