Road To SteemFest - Planning, Wanting, Doubting


7A2C6576-72EA-444A-A560-1D3B38C9033D.jpeg

Ah SteemFest, the biggest meet up of steemians of the year is only 4 mths away šŸ˜±

This year it will be held in Bangkok, Thailand on November 6th - November 10th. Check out this post for more details on the event itself.

The lovely Eric (@anomadsoul) has started back up his #roadtosteemfest initiative which asks individuals to share about their experience of getting ready for the event. His recent post asks those who are considering, doubting or already planning on going to write about it...and since Iā€™ve been asked quite a few times if I will be attending, I thought I should write about it.


First a bit of background

For those who maybe arenā€™t aware, I was able to attend last years SteemFest held in KrakĆ³w Poland and it was one of the best experiences of my life. (I recently wrote about the experience here).

The thing is that I sort of just randomly decided one day I was going to go. I was a small minnow here, pretty much completely unknown who worked in the background.. and didnā€™t even have an image of myself online. Due to some life changes and having a desire to do something crazy, I decided to go on an Unexpected Journey. Sort of a list of goals I wanted to achieve, all for reasons that would help me grow, and going to steemfest was one of those things. A goal I happily achieved, and Iā€™m so grateful that I did.


So what about this year?

Well of course I want to go, but not just for the social aspects and amazing experience but also due to something @roelandp and @firepower discussed...

Turning SteemFest into an outreach opportunity as well.



There is literally nothing better than being in a room full of steemians, and that is reason enough to go.. but what if we could use this opportunity to actually showcase Steem to the region as well? What if we could not only have a representation of the community, but invite the public in and show them everything we have to offer?

That is something I would really like to be a part of.



Representing Steem in the region itself to help get our name out there. Itā€™s something I plan on trying to plan in my local area, crypto conferences focused on getting Steems name out to the world.. and I would love to do it in Bangkok as well.


Now for the doubt

Ok, now that we know my intentions for wanting to go.. letā€™s talk about why I am unfortunately doubting it will happen.

Distance/Travel Time

Last year getting to Poland was an adventure and this year will be no different -

As I would have to travel over 8,000 miles

FF61A068-C0D7-4D1B-98CA-FD212D68D82B.jpeg

To put that in perspective for you Europeans-

03B66FC8-EAD8-4215-9E2D-000390A670FA.jpeg

Now here is the best part - In order to arrive on the day of the event (Wednesday the 6th), My flight departs on the Monday before (Nov 4th) ... and since Iā€™m a good drive from the airport, that means I leave my house the night of the 3rd.

DA4EAEE5-3572-498E-B2FC-36F7F356E2FE.jpeg

Ridiculous, right? šŸ˜‚ I mean, itā€™s doable and I did it last year.. but just to show that itā€™s a bit tough to even get there for me.


Expenses

Cost Iā€™m sure is an issue for most people. We are in what seems like an endless bear market and things are tight for many.

I donā€™t live off STEEM, in fact Iā€™ve not pulled anything out at this point, so this means that not only is going to SF cost out of pocket, but I have to take off time from the way I actually pay my bills... my job. Again, doable, just another hurdle.

Last year I paid out of pocket with the idea that I would pay myself back with STEEM I earned, which was going very well, and then the price crashed šŸ˜• SO.. I still havenā€™t paid myself back for that. Seeing that I am technically still ā€œin deptā€ to myself from that makes it a bit harder to just say hell with it and buy the tickets.

With doing the budgeting of Flights, hotel, transportation and just general expenses it would cost me about $1500 USD to make the trip, at least.

And with STEEM at its current price, that would be over 4,000 SP šŸ˜¬... over half of my current stake. Itā€™s just not something I can do right now.


Conclusion

I would love to go to SteemFest this year and who knows, I may be able to still make it happen.. You never know.

But currently I would be in that ā€Doubtingā€ group, as Iā€™m just not sure if itā€™s going to be doable.

A lot can happen in 4mths though, when moon? So I will watch the #roadtosteemfest initiative and cheer you all on while you begin this awesome journey that you will forever cherish šŸ¤—

And who knows, maybe Iā€™ll see you in Bangkok šŸ˜‰



Much Love and Steem On,

Justine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency