A Big Guy - @lvj comes to a close.

Little John (Juancito)

done1.jpeg

I am not sure how to eulogize this man, but nobody else will. He was a friend of sorts. He had a hand up but ended up on the street again. Then the hive community all pulled for him just after this picture was taken and got to know him via @lvj - The life of John (la vida de Juancito) here on the platform.

John had both a tablet and a smartphone when he started posting. I was in the process of teaching him to fish so he could eat for a lifetime. I went to deliver his $10,000 pesos that he had earned for the week. I went to give it to him and he told me that his phone was snatched from his hand, stolen. I handed him the money, trying to cheer him up, and told him to continue posting and commenting using the Android tablet. He could have bought a new phone if he wanted one. He had enough money.

He stopped posting and never went back to it. He had a box full of cash that he had earned which was administered by a saint of a man , Jorge, who manages an apartment building close to the sidewalk where John slept. Jorge is pictured here, the man in the middle.

done2.jpeg

I went back a couple of times after that to deliver his money, but he had cycled into hopelessness and you cannot move John. He was strong willed, a bit childlike too but with his Shrek like physique. Something tells me he did not fully realize how far he had come.

I told him I would be back when the price of his coins (Steem at the time) was up. We called his stake his "retirement payout." Steem was at ten cents the last time I saw him. It was hardly worth selling.

Over time I powered down his stake and waited. The price jump came last Friday. I cashed out the balance he had on Steemit at 0.77 cents - approx. $600.00 in dollars. I ran downtown to trade the dollars into something spendable locally. There I was, driving around the park where he went during the daytime. Then to the building that Jorge manages. I didn't see Juancito.

Jorge's wife was there and I knocked on the glass door. She opened it and let me in. i said, "I have John's retirement money. It's $85,000." She looked at me and told me that John had passed away late in 2020. I didn't know what to say. As she explained it, Jorge had gone out to talk to him the in the evening when he went to take out the garbage. Juan was fine. The next morning he was unresponsive.

Juancito has no family that can be found. I left the money with Jorge. Little John was the loudest tenant with the most complaints and expectations of all who lived there, and he lived outside the building. Jorge had fed him, bandaged him, and called the ambulance when John was sick. He also held John's phone, tablet, documents and other items of importance, including the money he made here. Jorge deserves the money, and I could not keep it. It's about three month's rent for your average apartment.

Juan is in my thoughts and prayers and I know he is happy now. I hope those of you who read about his life here on my blog would take a moment as well.

Spanish -by translator-

No estoy seguro de cómo elogiar a este hombre, pero nadie más lo hará. Era una especie de amigo. Tenía una mano para salir de pobreza, pero terminó en la calle otra vez. Después, muchos en la comunidad Hive lo ayudaron para ganar y ahorar. Lo conocieron como @lvj - La vida de Juancito aquí en la plataforma.

John tenía una tableta y un teléfono inteligente cuando empezó a publicar. Estaba en el proceso de enseñarle a pescar para que pudiera comer para toda la vida. Fui a entregarle sus $10,000 pesos que había ganado un día y me dijo que le habían arrebatado su teléfono. Le entregué el dinero, tratando de animarlo, y le dije que siguiera publicando y comentando usando la tableta Android. Podría haber comprado un teléfono nuevo. Tenía suficiente dinero.

Dejó de publicar y nunca volvió a poner contenido. Tenía una caja llena de dinero que había ganado que era administrada por un gran hombre, Jorge, el encargado de un edificio de apartamentos cerca de la vereda donde dormía Juan. Jorge es fotografiado aquí, el hombre en el medio.

Regresé un par de veces para entregar su dinero, pero él había entrado en la desesperanza y no se puede mover a John con su Shrek como físico. Algo me dice que no se dio cuenta del todo había logrado.

Le dije que volvería cuando el precio de sus monedas (Steem en ese momento) había subido. Sería aún más rico.

Eso sucedió el viernes pasado con la subida del precio. Rescarné el saldo que tenía en Steemit en 0.77 centavos - aprox. $600.00 en dólares. Corrí al centro de la ciudad para cambiar los dólares por algo que se puede gastar localmente. Allí conducía por el parque donde iba durante el día. Luego al edificio que dirige Jorge. No lo vi.

La esposa de Jorge estaba allí y hice tok-tok en la puerta de cristal. Ella lo abrió y me dejó entrar. "Tengo el dinero de la jubilación de John. Son $85,000." Me miró y me dijo que John había fallecido a finales de 2020. No sabía qué decir. Según explicó, Jorge había salido a hablar con él por la noche cuando fue a sacar la basura. Juan estaba bien. A la mañana siguiente no respondía.

Juancito no tiene familia que pueda ser encontrada. Dejé el dinero con Jorge. Little John fue el inquilino más ruidoso con la mayoría de las quejas y expectativas de todos los que vivieron allí, y vivió fuera. Jorge lo había alimentado, lo vendado y llamado a la ambulancia cuando John estaba enfermo. También cuido el teléfono, la tableta, los documentos y otros artículos de importancia de John, incluyendo el dinero que ganó aquí. Jorge se merece el dinero, y yo no podía quedámelo. It's acerca de tres meses de alquiler para tu apartamento promedio.

Juan está en mis pensamientos y oraciones y espero que aquellos de ustedes que leen sobre su vida aquí en mi blog también se tomen un momento.


I will be powering down @lvj here on Hive. If anyone has an interesting way to give away his balance, maybe comment about it. I think we have thirteen weeks to figure something out.

Voy a power down @lvj aquí en Hive. Si alguien tiene una manera interesante de regalar su saldo, tal vez comentar al respecto. Creo que tenemos trece semanas para averiguar algo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
55 Comments
Ecency